Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

57 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Mob Rules - Beast Reborn Award winner

Mob Rules
Beast Reborn
by Justin "Witty City" Wittenmeier at 20 August 2018, 7:50 AM

The newest album from German Power Metal band MOB RULES is yet another solid addition to an already stellar discography.  With solid riffs, powerful drumming, and epic keys the band has always put the power into their genre’s namesake. The first, and title track, is actually an intro; intro’s usually bore me but they are one of the few bands that pull them off. It is a symphonic track and appropriately grandiose.   A great set up for the rest of the album.

Ghost of a Chance,” is a steady rocker that presents a basic idea of what the rest of the album will sound like.  While it is a good track, I don’t find it to be the best on the album so if you heard this one already and liked it, then the rest will blow you away.   The dueling melodic guitars are definitely a nice touch, showcasing the importance of new guitarist Sonke Janssen.Shores Ahead,” is such a well done track.  The opening riffs and melodic leads really add a classy touch and provide the perfect vehicle for Dirks’ soaring vocal attack.  He has always been one of the best vocalists in Power Metal and he only gets better as the years go by.

Traveler in Time,” is a mini epic.  Ominous keys, pounding bass drums, and Dirk’s vocals in an almost speaking tone begin the song before it kicks into high gear.  The chorus is catchy and backed by a blanket of keys.  Lead guitar and Fritz’s entertaining drums weave in and out of the song.  The ending slows down a bit for clean keys to make an appearance before the album ends in a crash of thick riffs, keyboards that trail off into the night, and a crashing of cymbals. Two of the album’s best tracks come up soon after; “The Explorer,” and Revenant of the Sea,” both provide nonstop Power Metal enjoyment.  “The Explorer,” is a straight forward rager of a track, especially in the drums and the guitar melody lines.

Revenant of the Sea,” spends the first part with clean guitars and light use of keys and drums, like sheet lighting blanketing the sky on a cool summer evening.  The storm finally breaks wide open and the riffs are among the heaviest the band has written.  The second half blends the clean sounds with the distortion before it blends into another heavy section with an emotional and melodic guitar solo. The final track, “My Sobriety Mind,” is a ballad and a wonderful way to close an otherwise heavy album.  Dirks’ softer approach works perfectly with the female vocals (unfortunately, I’m not sure who it is) to create a touching song about dealing with loss and finding solace.   HALFBRODT’s clean keys and symphonic portion go a long way in pulling these important emotions into a swirling mass of touching sound, as does the guitar solo.  A stunning ballad.

MOB RULES is one of the most consistent bands on the scene.  Despite “Beast Reborn,” being their 9th full length album, they are not very well known compared to other bands in the genre and that is extremely unfortunate.  Hopefully, this album finally gets them the recognition they so richly deserve.  I can tell a lot of love went into this album and it really shows.

Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Beast Reborn
2. Ghost of a Chance
3. Shores Ahead
4. Sinister Light
5. Traveler in Time
6. Children’s Crusade
7. War of Currents
8. The Explorer
9. Revenant of the Sea
10. Way Back Home
11. My Sobriety Mind (For Those Who Left)
Klaus Dirks – Vocals
Markus Brinkmann – Bass
Sven Ludge – Guitars
Nikolas Fritz – Drums
Jan Christian Halfbrodt – Keyboards
Sonke Janssen – Guitars
Record Label: SPV/Steamhammer


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green