Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

53 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Candlemass - King of the Grey Islands (CD)

King of the Grey Islands
by Elina Papadoyianni at 03 June 2007, 7:34 PM

CANDLEMASS faced an aggressive hit as a band when Messiah Marcolin decided to leave, and they had to stand in front of the huge gap he left behind as an excellent vocalist and a major part of CANDLEMASS. The replacement was found in the voice of Robert Lowe from SOLITUDE AETURNUS and, fingers crossed, they waited for at least a decent outcome. And so did we…
With King Of The Grey Islands, CANDLEMASS delivered a huge shock to all of us who waited and to all who were in doubt. Rob Lowe has done an excellent job, his vocal performance is truly a gem and Doom Metal has transcended into a new dimension. The CANDLEMASS mark is there, surrounding the album, yet there are new ideas, dark and rotten pieces, all under the CANDLEMASS trademark sound and atmosphere.
It's been around two decades since the masterpiece Epicus Doomicus Metallicus, yet in year 2007 King Of The Grey Islands can rightfully earn a position next to all CANDLEMASS memorable releases. Leif Endling seems to be once again in great shape with a fantastic job and the progress of the band is now obvious, having tracks like Devil Seed, Of Stars And Smoke, Demonia 6 and Embracing The Styx that will definitely draw your attention. A solid sound, classic Doom Metal, but still very heavy and top class vocal performance are the main things that characterize King Of The Grey Islands.
This album proves - on one hand - the excellent choice of CANDLEMASS to have Robert Lowe on their team while - on the other hand - it totally satisfies fans of the genre.

4 Star Rating

Emperor Of The Void  
Devil Seed   
Of Stars And Smoke
Demonia 6  
Man Of Shadows
The Opal City
Embracing The Styx
Robert Lowe - Vocals
Lars Lasse Johansson - Guitars
Mats Mappe Bjorkman - Guitars
Leif Edling - Bass
Jan Lindh - Drums
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green