Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

30 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Cannibal Corpse – Torture Award winner

Cannibal Corpse
by Phillip Lawless at 29 March 2012, 11:47 AM

The mighty CANNIBAL CORPSE is back! Once again the fetid five-some births a dozen bloody monsters worthy of any midnight murder movie. Sure, we all know the drill. The sick, sadistic thoughts; the shining, sharpened blade; the glorious anticipation as the knife point gently pushes against alabaster skin. (Whoa … excuse me … I got carried away there.)

But, without a doubt, the 12 gore-soaked tracks on “Torture” all show gleeful delight in treating your psyche like Ted Bundy treated young coeds, or like Jeffrey Dahmer treated young hustlers, if that’s more your kind of thing. With 10 of the 12 songs clocking in at less than four minutes, it’s pretty evident what the album’s aim is … beat the listener to a swollen pulp; then get cheap thrills by continuing to abuse the lifeless corpse.

“Demented Aggression” is a spirited opener. The blast beats and frenzied riff are like a steel-toed boot to the teeth, and for just over three minutes, it doesn’t relent. The track is a great leadoff choice for the album, because it completely pummels. “Sarcophagic Frenzy” is mid-paced, and the beginning riff is more chunk than speed. Still, the song showcases tempo changes at the drop of a hat. George Fisher’s vocals are bolder than ever here, and they seem to be a tad grimier than on past albums. Though “Scourge of Iron” starts fast, it soon slows to a massive, monolithic crawl. At almost five minutes long, this song showcases the seriously groovy side of CANNIBAL CORPSE. There’s even a big SLAYER-like solo during the last minute of the track. Thank Hades that last track was subdued, because “Encased in Concrete” is brutal like CANNIBAL CORPSE tracks of yore. Alex Webster shreds his bass here, rolling notes an unbelievable speed.

While the verses of “As Deep As the Knife Will Go” are speeding demons, the slow chorus and breakdown are both ripe for Death Metal growl-alongs during live shows. “Intestinal Crank” starts off with the old stutter/stomp tempo we all know so well; then it ramps up. With about two minutes left, it bangs to a crescendo with Fisher’s guttural vocals scraping on top. The grand finale is a lethal burst of speed. “Followed Home Then Killed” is a solid track that begins with a moody guitar intro, and it features an impressive guitar solo towards the end of the song. “The Strangulation Chair” does just that, it squeezes the air from your lungs with oodles of double-bass drumming and tons of stone-solid riffs. This is another track that where Webster shows off his bass skills, and there’s even a short bass solo. Impressive.

“Caged…Contorted” starts off at a slow burn with slower riffs and rhythmic vocals, but soon gains momentum. “Crucifer Avenged” is a more laid-back song where growling vocals take front and center. Once again, “Rabid” is an apt song title. This intense little track features a few time changes but never really lets up on the listener. Closer “Torn Through” also comes out blazing, and it never eases up. This nasty track definitely ends the album on a high note.

So, there you have it. No electronic tracks and no sung vocals. Instead, another dozen doses of ultra-violence were swirled into single servings of blunt Metal trauma. At this point, even the casual CANNIBAL CORPSE listener will have to admit that the band have their career pretty much on lockdown. Solid release follows solid release, and it looks like there’s little that could ever completely slay these meat-gorged manglers with darkly depraved minds.

4 Star Rating

1. Demented Aggression
2. Sarcophagic Frenzy
3. Scourge of Iron
4. Encased in Concrete
5. As Deep As the Knife Will Go
6. Intestinal Crank
7. Followed Home Then Killed
8. The Strangulation Chair
9. Caged…Contorted
10. Crucifer Avenged
11. Rabid
12. Torn Through
George Fisher – Vocals
Rob Barrett – Guitar
Pat O’Brien – Guitar
Alex Webster – Bass
Paul Mazurkiewicz – Drums
Record Label: Metal Blade Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green