Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

39 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Chaosbay – Boxes Award winner

by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 26 January 2022, 6:28 AM

From their EPK, “CHAOSBAY have increasingly developed in the direction of Progressive Metalcore with a lot of melody in recent years. For now, it remains their secret how to celebrate complex songs with such playful ease, combining uncompromising heaviness with compelling hooks in such a way that each song simultaneously takes you by the hand and throws you to the mat. If they release just a fraction of the energy that went into the studio recordings for “Boxes,” you have to worry about the static of the venues at any upcoming live shows.” The album contains five tracks.

“The Prophet” leads off the album. It opens with a heavy dose of electronica, and harmonized vocals. The rough and tumble riff is augmented with high elements of melody in the chorus, but make no mistake, this song goes straight for the throat with a lot of energy. The breakdown at the end is pure power, with drummer Patrick Bernath showing some real skills on the kit. “Y” is another fast-moving song that shows both the band’s skills at tight instrumental passages as well as their heightened melodic sensibilities. Another brutal breakdown ensues as the band transitions to these super-heavy passages, and right back to the melodies once again.

“Lonely People” begins with softer and more breathable tones. Of course, the angry and heavy tones are present as well. The hooks in the chorus are fabulous, and you will get lost in them easily. “Ivory Tower” begins with more fast, rocket-fueled rhythms and brutal breakdowns. Most of the melody is again in the chorus, but it is also done with heavy emotions and poignant feeling. Grab a mic and sing along…this song is begging you to. “Willows by the Lake” closes the album. As the title suggests, this tune is a bit more introspective and mellow in the message it delivers. That chorus will dig in and get stuck in your head, and the punchy rhythms that follow will blow the dust off you in a hurry. The ending melody lines are absolutely beautiful

These guys have indeed figured out how to seamlessly combine heavy and aggressive music with sophisticated melodies and hooks that are as good as anything out there currently. Though they flirt with Alternative tones, particularly in the vocals and rhythms, this slab of Progressive Metalcore hints at what the future of Metal can become. These guys are also impeccable musicians…and talk about energy…they bring an entire case of “whoop-ass” with them when they perform. Just the thought of seeing them live has me salivating.

Songwriting: 9
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. The Prophet
2. Y
3. Lonely People
4. Ivory Tower
5. Willows by the Lake
Jan Listing – Lead Vocals, Guitars
Alexander Langner – Guitars
Matthias Heising – Bass
Patrick Bernath – Drums
Record Label: Circular Wave Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 05 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green