Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

28 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Chip Z'Nuff - Perfectly Imperfect Award winner

Chip Z'Nuff
Perfectly Imperfect
by Enda McGarth at 16 May 2022, 5:39 PM

Chip Z’nuff the Chicago, Illinois Grammy-nominated rocker delivers his new solo album “Perfectly Imperfect. Chip is well known for co-founding the hugely popular Glam Rock band ENUFF Z’NUFF in 1984. Chip has released more than twenty albums with the band and counts an impressive array of bands he’s toured with such as CHEAP TRICK, POISON, THE TRAGICALLY HIP, FOREIGNOR, ALICE COOPER, REO SPEEDWAGON and more.

He has produced a multitude of records throughout his career also and his fans range from the late David Letterman to even Howard Stern. Whilst writing, recording, and touring he also currently hosts the radio show Monsters of Rock to an audience of eight hundred thousand.

All of the songs on “Perfectly Imperfect” were written by Chip with the exception of “Heaven In A Bottle” which was co-written with former ENUFF Z’NUFF vocalist Donnie Vie and “Honaloochie Boogie” which is a cover of the MOTT THE HOOPLE song. The album includes guest appearances from Joel Hoekstra (WHITESNAKE, TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA), Steve Adler (ex-GUNS ‘N ROSES), Daxx Nielsen (CHEAP TRICK) and Daniel Hill (ENUFF Z’NUFF).

Perfectly Imperfect” begins with the crashing cymbals of the opening track “The Church” and follows with beautifully melodic guitar, a short but wonderful song that builds to a delightful crescendo. It is a worthy album opener.

What follows is “Welcome To The Party. The chiming guitar riff of the verse is accompanied by Chip’s raw vocals and a stunning chorus with soaring harmonies. It’s a catchy, head turning infectious pop song.

Doctor (I’m Going Down Can You Save Me?)” follows a different musical direction than the two previous songs leaning towards less pop chords and more to odd sounding, quirky ones but at the same time highly interesting and still with the same soaring pop choruses to great effect. The guitar throughout the song is classic rock and glam rock sounding. It’s another very catchy. melodic song that stays in the head of the listener long after listening.

Ordinary Man” is another full-on melodic song with gorgeous vocals and harmonies and guitar lines. An upbeat, happy sound to be savored.

The aforementioned “Heaven In A Bottle” starts with an almost eighties sounding guitar riff and what follows is another catchy ear worm song. The verse guitar is crunching, and the chorus is harmonies that make you move and tap your foot. The late key change is glorious. Another unforgettable number.

Roll On” opens with an almost blues sounding riff merged with classic rock. The ascending vocals are tight leading into the pop infused chorus. It’s a bouncy, rhythmic, melodic pop song.

“I Still Hail You” is a slower song with reflective lyrics about people surrounding the writer. Mentioning strangers like Charlie, Sally, and Billy amongst others with observations about their day jobs and lives. It is at the same time a song stacked with pop melodies and guitar and Chip’s lovely vocals. The outro vocals and fade out is almost Beatles sounding.

3 Way” is a more Hard Rock sounding song than the previous ones. The riff is slamming and hard and the song has tinges of blues. It has another rising, huge chorus.

Heroin” is a song written from the perspective of a user of the drug. The lyrics are from a conflicted person who is questioning the choices of using the drug, “It’s a sin/You can’t win/Heroin.” The song is bluesy and rock sounding with a harmonica appearance. Despite the dark subject matter of the song the tone is bright and cheerful.

The again aforementioned “Honaloochie Boogie” is a faithful cover of the MOTT THE HOOPLE song. It is an enjoyable, catchy song with sound bites included in the song. It’s an apt song to close the album.

Perfectly Imperfect” is an intensely melodic pop album full of pop hooks and pop sensibilities with massive choruses juxtaposed with well thought out classic rock guitar work and Chip’s raw vocals. It’s delightfully fresh and I’d recommend it to any listener.

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. The Church
2. Welcome to The Party
3. Doctor (I’m Going Down Can You Save Me?)
4. Ordinary Man
5. Heaven in A Bottle
6. Roll On
7. I Still Hail You
8. 3 Way
9. Heroin
10. Honaloochie Boogie
Chip Z’nuff - Singer, Bass, Guitar, Melotron
Joel Hoekstra - Lead Guitar
Daxx Nielsen - Acoustic Drums
Daniel Hill - Drums, percussion, and orchestration
Steve Adler - Acoustic Drums
Record Label: Frontiers Music SRL


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green