Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

28 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Cirkus Prütz – Blues Revolution

Cirkus Prütz
Blues Revolution
by Issy Herring at 23 July 2022, 4:17 AM

Since their formation in 2011, Swedish hard rockers CIRKUS PRÜTZ have gone from strength to strength in their musical career! They released their debut studio album “All for the Boogie and the Blues” back in 2017. Following this, they revealed the promotional track “Leave Me Alone” in 2019, after a much-needed two-year break. Their second body of work “White Jazz – Black Magic” came a few months later. “Blues Revolution” was the only single promoting their third studio album of the same name, which is due to be released on July 29th, 2022, via Metalville Records. The first track on the release is “Blues Revolution”, which is an instant hard hitter from the very beginning. The chorus of this song is fantastic from the first listen. The guitar solo in the middle of the song is just amazing – a cracking starter to the album, that’s for sure! “Boogie Woogie Man” is up next, which contains a blues hard rock riff from the get-go. Once Christian Carlsson’s vocals kick in, it is safe to say that you are well and truly hooked. This song is another stand out track.

“Modern Day Gentleman” sounds as though it could have been a BLACK STONE CHERRY B-side. The guitar riffs are immaculate throughout, with Carlsson’s vocals in this track sounding exactly like CHRIS ROBERTSON. “Let’s Join Hands” is a slower track in comparison, which has a unique feel about it. However, it is not as impactful as the three previous singles. Saying that, it is a welcome change for CIRKUS PRÜTZ to have turned things down a notch. “The Devil in Me” is another track that starts things off well with a head thumping guitar riff. One great thing about this song is how the riffs are varied throughout, keeping me engaged as a result. “Howl Like the Wolf” is a track that will instantly get you grooving. Unfortunately, there isn’t much else to it than that! The song isn’t bad, just not overly memorable like some of the others. “Headache” sounds very much like a KID ROCK song from the start. It is evident that CIRKUS PRÜTZ are well and truly back with their classic infectious sound here, another banger on the track listing! I will be listening to it on repeat for days to come! “Gotta Quit Drinking” is up next, which leads us back to the slower sound of the band. The song is probably the most personal and honest on the record, being very relatable too. Vocalist Christian Carlsson opens up about his addictive drinking habits and how he realises that alcohol is not the way to go anymore. It is great to hear CIRKUS PRÜTZ reveal themselves a bit more on this track, which will most definitely help their success in the long run. “Death Knock Blues” is the penultimate song on this album. At this point, I can really tell that CIRKUS PRÜTZ are very sure of the direction they want to go in musically and do it well. The song seems to be a slow to start with, but when you get to the peak of the track you are met with another hard-hitting chorus.

“Only Rock ‘N’ Roll” is the final track. This was the best choice of song for the band to finish this album with, as it is such an energetic belter! You are transported back to another decade here, dancing the song away from start to finish. A perfect ending to a truly fantastic album! You can probably already tell what my final thoughts are on this album, but if you need a reminder; “Blues Revolution” by CIRKUS PRÜTZ is undoubtedly one of the best blues rock albums of this year to date! They clearly have come a long way since their early years, creating one of the most infectious rock albums ever. Even if you aren’t particularly a fan of blues rock, I believe that any rock fan will find this release enjoyable. It is rare for me to say this, but I would say the vast majority of tracks on “Blues Revolution” could be singles in their own right. Even though there isn’t a lot of variety in terms of sound, I promise you that you will be impressed with this release!

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 7
Production: 10

4 Star Rating

1. Blues Revolution
2. Boogie Woogie Man
3. Modern Day Gentleman
4. Let’s Join Hands
5. The Devil in Me
6. Howl Like the Wolf
7. Headache
8. Gotta Quit Drinking
9. Death Knock Blues
10. Only Rock ‘N’ Roll
Christian Carlsson – Vocals/Guitar
Franco Santunione – Guitar/Backing Vocals
Jerry Prütz – Bass/Backing Vocals
Per Kohlus – Drums
Record Label: Metalville Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 01 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green