Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

34 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Coffin Rot - A Monument To The Dead

Coffin Rot
A Monument To The Dead
by Craig Rider at 06 October 2019, 10:05 AM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: COFFIN ROT; signed via Rotted Life Records, hailing from the United States of America - performing Death Metal, on their debut album entitled: "A Monument Of The Dead" (released October 18th, 2019).

Since formation in 2017; the quartet in question have 2 Demos, 1 Split; 1 Compilation, and 1 full-length album in their discography so far. I am introduced to the latter entitled: "A Monument Of The Dead". 8 tracks ranging at around 32:07; COFFIN ROT arranges an intricately designed formula of heavy-hitting Death Metal developments. "Copremesis" begins the album; conveying amplified adrenaline, boistrously bouncy crunchiness & hardened hymns that groove with hasty flamboyancy. Barraged with frenzied firepower; fiercely frantic harmonies of deadly finesse & a uniquely savage versatility of vehemently sinister ultilizations that showcase monstrously meaty riffs, sonically seamless solos with slow yet jumpy rhythms of relentless virtuocities – quaking with quintessential maliciousness & meticulous manifestations.

Consisting of Hayden Johnson on vocals; the frontman demonstrates deep, guttural growls; grunty raspiness, with rawly rough ramifications of grunty chords that scream with heavily high-pitched lungs & profusely robust pipes of malevolent rage. "Saw Blade Suicide" shreds with rip-roaring scorches of thunderous melodies that chug; frolick, and gallop into a complexly dextrous distinction from guitarist Tre Guertner. Forging a blistering craftsmanship of catchy instrumentation, evil empowered intensities & dynamically hybrid hostility. "Miasma of Barbarity" (including Dustin James from CHURCH OF DISGUST) embellishes on experimental pandemonium; ruthlessly injecting infectious bass audibility from Brandon Martinez-Woodall, who thumps with pulsating pummelling, punchline foundations and borderline gnarliness - converged with tremelo picking for good measure.

"Forced Self-Consumption" distributes concrete havoc; energized with rapidly swift nimbleness, polished with organic substance and profusely robust tempos that implement an extreme embodiment of distinguished execution - as battering drummer Derek Johnson hammers his set with solid yet rambunctious pounding. Crushing into a demonic hellfire of potent vibrancy, while slamming with jumpy vigour & momentously slow shifting patterns that flow into a wildly rushing quirk of snappy precision. "Necrotized" is a bestial contrast of blasphemous mayhem; revolved with rampently tenacious slabs of maliciously volatile speed, juxtaposed with smooth yet killer lacerations that strike with weighty malignance and a prestigious maelstrom of thrashing madness that explodes into detailed blitzkreig.

"Incubation of Madness" bombards eardrums into a berserking bulldozer, enriching the soul with some noisy terror that screams with bloody gore & vilely rich raspiness with grindy distortion. The penultimate track "Mechanical Seperation" transistions with more razor-sharp throbbing, venomously oozing out vulgar potential & talented material that is quite refreshing. For a debut, "Coffin Rot" is an almighty spectacle of trailblazing repugnance. Overall concluding "A Monument To The Dead" with the titular track itself, in which is 7:20s long - smothered with doom-esquire outbursts & ominous vibrations that tremble with tempestuous rumbling. I am compelled to say that COFFIN ROT certainly outdone themselves with their 1st record, reminding me of bands like CANNIBAL CORPSE & DEATH - influentially elementing a balanced formulaic while characterized with their own style of songwriting is memorably epic & captivating. A gruesomely enjoyable listen in which I find all Death Metal maniacs will relish, and is most definitely worth the discovery - have at it!

Songwriting: 8
Memorability: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Copremesis
2. Saw Blade Suicide
3. Miasma of Barbarity
4. Forced Self-Consumption
5. Necrotized
6. Incubation of Madness
7. Mechanical Separation
8. Coffin Rot
Derek Johnson - Drums
Tre Guertner - Guitars
Hayden Johnson - Vocals
Brandon Martinez-Woodall - Bass
Record Label: Rotted Life Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green