Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

ProfBurp, 30 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Cries Of The Captive - Totalitarian

Cries Of The Captive
by Andrej Romić (Nekrst Fanzine) at 22 February 2017, 7:53 PM

September 23, 2016 saw Cries Of The Captive release their new record Totalitarian. The record itself is an adrenaline bomb and a fusion of so multiple brutal genres. Their ‘’new’’ record consists of 9 sick, brutal and twisted tracks that are full of chugs, breakdowns, riffs, brutal vocals and constant experimentation. “Grief”, the first track of the album, starts off with a riff that should certainly sound familiar to the fans of Deathcore. With the slow, creepy intro atmosphere, the record prepares the listener for a brutal experience that is to ensue throughout the entire record.

I know, breakdowns are normal, but the way these guys do them will simply blow your head off. The Slam and Deathcore-infused mix of vocals on the album is just AMAZING. Further on we have “Closed Casket”, a track of incredibly heavy riffing, louder vocals, and brutal atmosphere. The breakdowns are deep as hell, and just when you thought they couldn’t get any more brutal, yes, they do! They are jaw dropping. The screams are definitely not boring; I assume there were some guests too, because the vocals aren’t monotone throughout any track, they change constantly, switching from Deathcore influences, to brutal and slamming Death Metal ones.

“Totalitarian”, the title track, is by far the heaviest. You can hear both genres pretty clearly, whilst none of them goes over the edge and both remain coexistent. “Dead Zone”, opens up with some pretty chug-based riffs and melodic influenced guitar riffs in the background. They go on all to way until the first minute mark when the vocals kick in, and everything falls and collapses. “Gaptooth”, the fifth track, doesn’t hesitate and kicks off things instantly with the most dominant vocals that have been heard since the album’s start. Even though the breakdowns are simply unstoppable - especially on top with the Slam and brutal vocals - they don’t make a mess of the overall sound and atmosphere of this album, yet remain pretty fluent and cover the amazing riffs.

“Cataclysm” starts off with an curious riff that is not quite in line with this genre of music – though is nonetheless remains interesting. It’s slow, sludgy, and it almost gives me a MORBID ANGEL vibe. Although, as supposed earlier, it doesn’t last long - even though it does come back from time to time. “Collapse” is much different than anything you have heard on this album; maybe within Deathcore in general (?). There is plenty of extremely fast drumming, blast-beats, intense pig squeals, down-to-the-core-of-the-earth breakdowns, riffs, riffs, and more riffs.  If you don’t bother listening to the whole record - even though you should – then in the very least give this one track a listen.

“Abomination” is a rare track of pure and swift brutality. It’s a bit repetitive, but one can get used to it, which depends on the mood, but in general, the track itself is interesting. It is Not my favourite one, but it’s solid. “Dissolution”, however, is different. I think that on I witnessed the deepest f*cking growls on the entire record!! That track is incredible!! Forget everything I said about the previous ones (except for the good parts), and jam this one. It’s slow, though not too slow, and has its parts, but when it speeds up, it’s unstoppable!
If you like this genre, and are hoping in your heart that you can still find some gems, congratulations, you’re facing one right now. If you like OCEANO, THY ART IS MURDER, or DEPTHS* give this album a JAM!

Songwriting: 6
Originality: 6
Memorability: 5
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

  1. Grief
  2. Closed Casket
  3. Totalitarian
  4. Dead Zone
  5. Gaptooth
  6. Cataclysm
  7. Collapse
  8. Abomination
  9. Dissolution
Mason Blair - Vocals
Jordan Huemiller - Guitar
Skyler Dustin - Guitar
Justin Hill - Guitar
Kyler Loughlin - Drums
Jared Pohlsander - Bass
Record Label: Imminence Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green