Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

33 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Crown of Ascension – Transmission Errors

Crown of Ascension
Transmission Errors
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 26 November 2022, 4:43 AM

From Bandcamp, “A. White, the sole mastermind behind the project, transposes into CROWN OF ASCENSION an important part of influences for his other creature. The result is a bleak and intense brand of Experimental Black Metal, strongly contaminated with Industrial, Drone and Electronics elements. The use of drum machines set to insane and savage tempos adds an additional layer of industrial bleakness, providing "Transmission Errors" with a unique and frightening atmosphere.” The album has five songs.

The title track is the first. Fuzzy, distorted sounds open the song, with harrowing elements in the background. You could be lost in space or reliving a nightmare. From there comes the wall of Black Metal. Dissonant chords and a feeling of utter desperation fuel the song. “Quakes in the Schizosphere” is another frightening song. Under the surface, evil bubbles, almost like the infamous Alien waiting to be born. He rips out his host’s abdomen when he comes out, killing him. More despondent tones drive the hatred. I can’t help but wonder if the drummer is a machine, literally, because his presence is so intense.

“Monsters of Fractal Geometry” begins with slow, melancholy but very tense tones. The tension is so thick, it hangs like fog in the air, reducing visibility to nothing. Cold, sterile vocals also echo in the frigid sounds. “The Great Dying” features electronic elements amidst the chaotic structure. Clean guitar tones ring out above the devastatingly desolate landscape. This is one of those songs that could give you seizures if you listen long enough…the scraping guitar tones rattle at 1000 bpm. “The Dripping Faucet” closes the album…with four minutes of pure torture and terror. Relentless attacks reign on your head until you are beaten into a pulp.

On the surface, this album sounds like senseless noise, especially in the manner that the vocals and drums are composed. But if you dig a little deeper, you can hear the true meaning of the songs…total bleakness with even a tinge of hope. Your cold, dark cell that it barely big enough to hold you will be all that you have for the rest of your life. Imprisoned without parole.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 6
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1. Transmission Errors
2. Quakes in the Schizosphere
3. Monsters of Fractal Geometry
4. The Great Dying
5. The Dripping Faucet
A. White – Everything
Record Label: Xenoglossy Productions


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green