Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

42 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Crucifyre - Post Vulcanic Black

Post Vulcanic Black
by Riccardo Gaffuri at 04 February 2018, 10:20 PM

Third release from Swedish CRUCIFYRE, "Post Vulcanic Black" is now out for Pulverised Records; followup to 2014 "Black Magic Fire," we find an almost new lineup for CRUCIFYRE although this doesn’t seem to affect their black thrash mix we found in the previous album: manipulating their old school influences, they’re still able to give their work their typical footprint, although marching along a path toward an evolution in their sound.

Opening the album, we find title track, laced in doom with a catchy guitar work underlying. “Thrashing with violence” speeds up tempo, kicking in the teeth with its drums. “Mother Superiors’s Eyes” is an ever-changing track, lacing post punk influences with a metal kick. “War Chylde” is a heavier take on this melting attempt, with shattering guitars and harsher vocals. “Hyper Moralist (Deemed Antichrist)” on the other hand show its post punk waves in full. This experimentation recesses in the second half, and with it the more extrovertial and more interesting side of CRUCYFIRE: we go back to a paler mix of heavier tracks, somewhere laced with modern hints.

As said, the first half of the album shows a more eclectic work, with a smart lacing and melting influences and genres together, in an appealing and experimenting way: although this almost disappears towards the end, getting back to less intriguing shores, Post Vulcanic Black is still an enjoyable record, with more than a wink to the 80’s and hopeful thoughts about CRUCIFYRE future.

Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Memorability: 7
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. Post Vulcanic Black
2. Thrashing With Violence
3. Mother Superior’s Eyes
4. War Chylde
5. Hyper Moralist (Deemed Antichrist)
6. 200 Divisions
7. Dod Manniska?
8. Murder and Sex and Self Destruction
9. Copenhagen in the Seventies
10. Serpentagram
Karl Buhre - Vocals
Patrick Nilsson - Guitar
Alex Linder - Guitar
Cristián Canales - Bass
Yasin Hillborg - Drums
Record Label: Pulverised Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 03 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green