Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

35 guests

Welcome to our newest member, leanne

Dan Baunes' Lost Sanctuary - Lost Sanctuary Award winner

Dan Baunes' Lost Sanctuary
Lost Sanctuary
by Craig Rider at 28 May 2021, 1:26 PM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: DAN BAUNES' LOST SANCTUARY; signed via ROAR! Rock Of Angels Records, hailing from the glory of Germany - performing Melodic Thrash/Power Metal, on their debut album entitled: "Lost Sanctuary" (released 14th of May, 2021)

Since formation in 2019; the duo in question have only this here debut album in their discography so far entitled: "Lost Sanctuary". 11 tracks ranging at around 55:59, DAN BAUNES'S LOST SANCTUARY arranges an intricately designed formula on some heavy-hitting Melodic Thrash/Power Metal amalgamations.

Opening up with this majestic but acoustic strum; this blistering barrage frenzy in amplified adrenaline and boisterously bouncy grooves sets the stage with "Arise" where this rompy maelstrom manifests with rampantly riveting momentum, which surges with mellow èclat in which reveals with euphonic heft where progressively technical rhythms shred with melodic remedy. A host of meticulous guest appearances come into play where Bob Katsionis (Keyboardist & Rhythm Guitarist for FIREWIND, POWER QUEST, NIGHTFALL, WARRIOR PATH & OUTLAND to name a few) articulates an astounding representation of psychedelic hooks in harmonic elegance also within "Open Your Eyes'' - which interperses with dexterously dynamic hymns for good measure that rip with wildly rushing stability & organic substance to boot.

That's just one of many guest appearances within this project; while "Temple Of Fear'' synergistically unravels with scorching vocal performances from duet Rasmus Bom Andersen (DIAMOND HEAD) & Jennifer Diehl (FIRE RED EMPRESS) as both evolve with this gnarly flow in old school cords from Rasmus that raise with quintessential virtuosity while schizophrenic screams from Jennifer spellbinds you while yelling with raspy throatiness that shout with bellowing exhilaration. While the trailblazing yet rapidly swift nimbleness within this vast supergroup solidifies with punchy jumpiness, weighty tightness & profusely robust experimentation especially in the grinding impact of the mighty "God Of War". Where this strong singing from Aliki Katriou (EIGHT LIVES DOWN) merges operatic but high-pitched fluidity with the sturdy thuds that thunder with melodious precision on steely synthesizers, skyrocketing vocals & venomously piledriving bass audibility also from Dan Baunes himself - impressively injecting an infectious dose of some sulfurous yet volatile meatiness that will roll heads in no time.

"No Man's Land" is like a concept song while the whole recording is essentially, this one has interesting elements like killer laceration mobility that unearths this towering synthesis on medley and dark but bulldozing executions where this uniquely zestful outrè on panache & versatility from FURYON's vocalist Matt Mitchell casts an everlasting but sublime resonance on mythical entrance in which pummels you with rambunctious pile driving from hammering drummer Sebastian Weiss (also on percussion and backing vocals) - who strives with mountainous prestige which stomps with thumpy bombardments persistently as I advance toward "Master Of You".

Stampeding slays tremble speakers with reverberating rumbles and chorale charm as I get to the titular track, where Doogie White (from RITCHIE BLACKMORE'S RAINBOW, MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP & YNGWIE MALMSTEEN) & Chris Webb (BIOMECHANICAL & SOLSIKK) both showcase stunning pipes that quaver with enchanting uproars & outbursting vigour on foundations in borderline finesse in which will mesmerise you with the traditional fulcrum in place of the triumphant yet salubrious songwriting musicianship that's been brilliantly crafted here.

The Lofty but distinctively distinguished attributes in "The Arconite" converge a driving kick on symbiotic semblance where patterns on sonically seamless catchiness and hasty thrashiness oscillate with relentless pandemonium while rocking with rigorous and full force impact - a hybrid revver that results with potentially talented prodigiousness with no doubt in my mind.

"Virtual Hedeona" chisels implosive crescendos that swerve with technical magnetism where wondrous verve systematically implements grovelling gutturals that growl with grunty backing cords while examining a wickedly rad variety which orchestrates with methodical fundamentals in flexible instrumentation prowess that will transfix you greatly with the concretely gritty yet sublime aesthetics that are diligently charismatic as well as creatively heavy.

An impressive trio of vocals within the penultimate rocker: "Unholy" which captivates an amazing amount of snappy yet potently vibrant thrills while two previous duets from Jennifer & Aliki from track 3 & 4 make a resounding re-appearance here, as more of that diversely flamboyant diligence effectively details a crunchy but chunky testosterone on memorably appealing instrumentation while the finale closer "Rhapsody Of Life" is a short, overarching hymn that gives a breather from the tempestuous steamrolling of epic battle cries and galloping frolics of chugging masterclass that has been stridently yet remarkably performed here.

Bottom line; I am compelled to say that DAN BAUNES' LOST SANCTUARY most surely offered a groundbreaking but phenomenal spectacle of such revolving musical calibre in which will marvel your soul with vivacious buoyancy, and exuberant fuel in adventurous but ambitious enthusiasm which most certainly deserves discovering. An enjoyably entertaining boundary in replayably prompt mechanics which makes "Lost Sanctuary" worthy of a good handful of spins! An intriguing listen, do check it out.

Songwriting: 9
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Arise
2. Open Your Eyes (feat. Bob Katsionis)
3. Temple of Fear (feat. Rasmus Bom Andersen & Jennifer Diehl)
4. God of War (feat. Aliki Katriou)
5. No Man’s Land
6. Master Of You (feat. Matt Mitchell)
7. Lost Sanctuary (feat. Doogie White & Chris Webb)
8. The Arconite
9. Virtual Hedonia
10. Unholy (feat. Herbie Langhans, Aliki Katriou & Jennifer Diehl)
11. Rhapsody of Life
Dan Baune - Guitar/Bass/Vocals/Synthesizers
Sebastian Weiss - Drums/Percussion/Backing Vocals
Bob Katsionis (Outloud, ex-Firewind, Warrior Path)
Rasmus Bom Andersen (Diamond Head)
Jennifer Diehl (Fire Red Empress)
Aliki Katriou (Eight Lives Down)
Matt Mitchell (Furyon)
Doogie White (Rainbow, Yngwie Malmsteen, Michael Schenker)
Chris Webb (Biomechanical, Solsikk)
Herbie Langhans (Avantasia, Firewind)
Record Label: ROAR! Rock Of Angels Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green