Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

51 guests

Welcome to our newest member, DanielleD

Defecto – Duality Award winner

by Thomas Kumke at 07 October 2020, 6:06 PM

DEFECTO are a Progressive Metal band from Copenhagen, Denmark. They were formed in 2011 by Nicklas Sonne with the help of legendary producer Flemming Rasmussen (Metallica, Blind Guardian). They released 1 EP and now their third full-length album. Since their last album “Nemesis” in 2017, DEFECTO had a very successful first headlining tour in 2018 and played various summer festivals during 2019. Their sound stands for heavy riffs, melodic song arrangements, orchestral elements, clean and growling vocals, and very good productions. “Duality” was released via Swedish label Black Lodge Records and has a total length of more than 47 minutes.

DEFECTO already show in their opener what they stand for: a sound that includes a wide range of different genres and subgenres. “Duality” is here not only the name of an album, it is a philosophy. “Rings Of Saturn” starts with an acoustic intro with classical elements followed by powerful guitar riffs. There are frequent breaks during the song, background choruses, harmonic guitar solos. The overarching brace is the voice of Nicklas Sonne. His vocals are arranged perfectly to keep this “Duality” together. “The Uninvited” is a bit heavier with progressive elements including clean and growling vocals. “Rise” shows another strength of DEFECTO: the capability of composing catchy and powerful guitar riffs, melodic arrangements but still preserving heaviness. “Rise” is really an anthem, made for live shows and will surely become a fan favorite!

Paradigm Of Deceit” is an emotional love song. It is a strong song thanks to Nicklas Sonne, whose vocals interpret the song very authentic and honest. “All For You” “Untamed” and “Condemned” show the heavier side of DEFECTO: heavy guitar riffs, catchy melodies, and very well worked guitar solos. While “All For You” is the fastest song on “Duality”, “Untamed” and especially “Condemned” have also groove elements.

The final part of “Duality” is slower and more emotional. Nicklas Sonne shows that his voice fits perfectly to emotional songs. “Tempest” is another song of the previously described “Duality”: a frequent back and forth of heavy and powerful riffs and slow and melodic sequences. Nicklas Sonne is capable of singing both styles but I think his strengths are best utilized in the slow parts. If you have doubts on that, listen to “Don’t Say Goodbye”, another potential fan favorite, and a perfect end to this album.

DEFECTO released two of their songs as video. The video to “Rise” is not only funny, it displays once again the “Duality”: four regular guys leaving their houses and families in the morning to go to work. They are very different characters: the office worker, the maintenance man, the student, and the father with the child. On their way they all meet, dress up as metal heads, drink Jack Daniels, drive to a place where they set up their equipment and play “Rise”. At the end of the day they return to their “normal” lives. The funniest moment is when Nicklas Sonne returns home and the Jack Daniels bottle is still in his briefcase. The YouTube link is given below.

DEFECTO deliver an album that has a lot of different sound elements and those elements are brilliantly mixed together. “Duality” fulfils all expectations and beyond. There is a wide range of styles and that is perfectly arranged towards the vocals. While all the focus is on Nicklas Sonne, also Frederick Møller does a brilliant job on the guitar and deserves a lot of praise for that album. “Duality” is very well produced. Fans of DEFECTO will love the new album and can look forward to see the new material being played live in the future.

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Rings Of Saturn
2. The Uninvited
3. Rise
4. Paradigm Of Deceit
5. All For You
6. Untamed
7. Condemned
8. Bed Of Nails
9. Washed Away
10. Tempest
11. Don’t Say Goodbye
Nicklas Sonne – Vocals, Guitars
Frederick Møller – Lead Guitars
Mikkel Christensen – Drums
Thomas Bartholin – Bass
Record Label: Black Lodge Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 20 October 2020

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green