Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook




Not logged in

Users online

Cowardes5, ocajyq, sangorosco, 49 guests

Welcome to our newest member, ocajyq

Devoid - Cup of Tears Award winner

Cup Of Tears
by Dana Lautzenheiser at 05 January 2018, 3:17 AM

DEVOID released their debut album “Cup of Tears” October 13, 2017 via MelodicRock Records. The songwriting and musicianship, particularly the guitar work, is distinctly impressive upon listening to Devoid, and that’s perhaps not shocking as the band is the brainchild of renowned French guitarist Shad Mael. “Soldiers”, the powerful, provoking opening track has a memorable chorus and gripping melody. “Otherworld” features atmospheric choral like vocal melody. The section before the guitar solo is an interesting point in the song with some variation in rhythm and time signature.

“Religion” has a darker sound than the previous tracks. Carsten’s forceful vocals accentuate the track. I can’t say enough about the guitar solos on this album and this track is not an exception. The acoustic guitar work on “Final Breath” is definitely noteworthy, very warm and enveloping. “Mind Keeper” features Mattias la Eklundh. The song stands out with heavy riffing and a different style than the other tracks. There is an ethereal tone about it, and the guitar solo shimmers and winds over the the melody perfectly. “Hollow Point” has a Middle Eastern feel in the intro, as though Devoid is taking you to a mysterious new land. The song builds tension with a strong drum beat and atmospheric synth. Shad’s guitar melody in this song is unmatched, and I found myself going back and listening repeatedly trying to recapture the magic again and again.

“Cup of Tears” has some heavier riffing coupled with cosmic sounding synth and rounds out the album for a feeling of completeness. Cup of Tears, with its crisp production, compelling melodies, catchy vocal refrains, and guitar solos steeped in technical finesse will stand out to the metal aficionado.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 10

4 Star Rating

1. Soldiers
2. Otherworld
3. Collective Heart
4. The Clock is Ticking
5. Killing Hands
6. Religion
7. Agony
8. FInal Breath
9. Colours Fade to Grey
10. Mind Keeper
11. Cup of Tears
12. Hollow Point

Shad Mae - guitar
Carsten Lizard Schulz - vocals
Orris Guilbaud -keys
Ben Toquet -bass
Ben Wanders -drums 
Record Label: Melodic Rock Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 17 September 2019

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green