Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

77 guests

Welcome to our newest member, Hingstes9

Dimaeon - Void Award winner

by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 08 November 2019, 7:17 AM

DIMAEON is a Progressive Death Metal Band, hailing from Leeuwarden, the Netherlands. Formed in 2002, they released several demos, EPs, and Splits before releasing their debut LP titled “Collapse of the Anthropocene” in 2013. Six years later, they return with “Void,” which contains eight new tracks.

“Hey Lijk Van Ons Bestaan” opens the album, with hushed and depressing tones at first. Twin guitars come into play. Harsh vocals appear and then the song retreats a little with an ambient passage with spoken vocals, before coming back at you with its full claws. A guitar solo ushers in some melody towards the end. “The Insurgent” comes for your throat right out the gate, with a heavy, aggressive bite. Some of the Progressive elements shine here in the way the band shifts the meter often. The song builds with some atmosphere at the point of a very alluring guitar solo. It’s the yin and yang here that works. This song enters many different realms.

“Rain” is a shorter instrumental…a bit on the sad side perhaps. I love the bass work in this song as it unfolds. It still maintains that darkness but also has some really pretty overtones. It segues into “The Quantum Suicide Machine,” with clean guitar tones that echo. It begins building in layers and you really get the sense of the band’s sophisticated musical vision for the album. The drums, bass and guitars work in a tight rhythm that is impenetrable. I can definitely hear some NE OBLIVISCARIS influence here…this track was amazing. “Dissolve” opens with a full on sound and grab onto something for the ride. It’s fast and furious with deadly vocals, and some fantastic guitar work. There is also a Classical passage with lead guitars to suggest some trained ears.

“Waves” opens with piano notes and clean vocals, and a solemn tone overall. The trumpet notes open it up to a whole different level, and it’s emotionally charged. But, then heavy guitars rage in along with harsh vocals, and the song expresses anger. Acoustical guitars take the track to completion. “Transcendence” opens with a heavy rhythm, and some lead guitar work. The chord progressions are fascinating here and really bring something different to the album. It truly transcends with the addition of piano and saxophone after the half-way mark.

“Dystopian Monument” closes the album, and it’s a lengthy song, at over twelve minutes. It opens slowly and with dissonant clean guitars and some nice bass work. The vocals are whispered and you wonder when the big moment is coming. A riff and groove begins to develop but then it’s back to that mysterious sound again. The guitars sound like chimes and a feeling of hope starts to form. But it is quickly dashed by harsh vocals and a meaner sound. Light and ambient moments come out of nowhere, and there is a long fadeout.

Overall, I am in awe that this band isn’t signed. Maybe it’s by their own choosing. Because they have the chops and musicianship to play with the best of them, and their songwriting is unique and original. Moments of pure rage combine with moments of ambient and calm storytelling and the combination of the two is what makes the album as good as it is. When you have the skills to play Progressive Metal, but also enjoy Death Metal, this is the album for you.

Songwriting: 9
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 9
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Hey Lijk Van Ons Bestaan
2. The Insurgent
3. Rain
4. The Quantum Suicide Machine
5. Dissolve
6. Waves
7. Transcendence
8. Dystopian Monument
Nikky Sriamin – Lead Vocals
Rembert Breidenbach – Guitars/Backing vocals
Sybren Boonstra – Guitars
Philippus Yntema – Bass/Backing vocals
Danny Boonstra – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green