Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

61 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

Dire Peril - The Extraterrestrial Compendium Award winner

Dire Peril
The Extraterrestrial Compendium
by Craig Rider at 21 November 2018, 9:36 AM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: DIRE PERIL; signed via Divebomb Records, hailing from Canadian grounds - performing Power Metal, on their debut album entitled: “The Extraterrestrial Compendium” (released November 9th, 2018).

Since formation in 2012; the band in question have 3 EPs, 2 Singles; a Compilation Album, and this here debut album in their discography so far - entitled: “The Extraterrestrial Compendium”. 12 tracks ranging at around 01:05:53; DIRE PERIL arrange an intricately designed formula of hard-hitting Power Metal developments. “Yuatja (Hunter Culture)” begins the record; conveying in boistrously bouncy crunchiness of meticulous melodies and amplified adrenaline of rhythmic relentlessness, stampeding into a rampaging stomp of seamlessly sonic solidity. The band is an impressive duet, delivering hastily harmonic instrumentation with proficiently persistent musicianship. This first song demonstrates diligently composed flamboyancy, frolicking along with chugging gallops amalgamated with chaotic mayhem that is all round profusely robust.

Consisting of multitasker Jason Ashcraft on rhythm; lead, acoustic and bass guitars; the seasoned performer distributes complex dexterity of efficiently established riffs and solos, executed with a borderline foundation of punchline grooves and fabricated finesse. “Planet Preservation” is the next in line; contrasting a concretely gritty granduer of deadly heaviness, converged with conceptual songwriting memorability while waved with constructively distinguished charges of hardened hymns and creatively diverse manifestations. “Enemy Mine” showcases vocalist’s John Yelland’s powerful pipes that are fuelled with clean consistencies, while culminated with a rawly rough ramification. Ultilized with versatile varieties of vehement velocity, engaged with captivating blisters that jumps with thunderous thumpiness.

The Visitor” experiments with catchy yet progressively technical elements; distinctively implementing infectiously organic substances of savagely sinister firepower, in which explodes with furious hammering attributes while adroitly battering with audible soundscapes and mid-tempo patterns - that pummel with unique, unprecedented stability. “Total Recall” is a belter; excelled with efficacious orchestrations in which flow with diligent expertise, energetically elegant enlightenments and electrical fulfillment - fluidly polished with rapidly swift nimbleness on the sound production department, an epicly composed crusher. “Queen Of The Galaxy” features Brittney Slayes from UNLEASH THE ARCHERS, and this duet is a dominating classic as it creates atmospheric anthems as well as some stunning singing salubriousness from both attendees - crafted with detailed and slamming results.

Roughnecks” is another basher; chorus, grabbing hooks and viciously subtle renditions, impactful intensities - fused with incredibly majestic, and an utterly unyeilding stock of enjoyably fun experiences. Epic Science Fiction Inspired Power Metal is a great and new sub-genre name, and so far - this band flairs and thrives on shining performances. “Blood In The Ice” comes next, attributing adequate tones that spaciously spread with special vocal and drum cymbal engineering finesse - also seems tributed to the horror film: “The Thing”, an excellent illustration of DIRE PERIL’s understanding of their thematic material. “Heart Of The Furyon” supplies ripping and thrashing power that shreds with primitively malicious and melodious kinetics, transistioned with superb machinations and acute aesthetics - a notable highlight.

Altair IV: The Forbidden Planet” conceptually captures more riveting remedies, rambunctious roudiness while injecting anvil-pounding fluidity - polished with quality sound production and speedy stimulation. “Always Right Here” wobbles with wrath, assaulting frenzied furiousness while converged with an emotive ballad-pseudo effect. Overall concluding this behemoth with the epic finale of “Journey Beyond The Stars” (featuring Arjen Anthony Lucassen from AYREON, STAR ONE & THE GENTLE STORM); I certainly was blown away with “The Extraterrestrial Compendium”, the 2 members and all guests generate gnarly and mammoth performances which provide a punchline Power Metal experience. DIRE PERIL definitely exceeded all original expectations and this may well be the best Power Metal has to offer in 2018.

Songwriting: 9
Memorability: 9
Originality: 9
Sound Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Yuatja (Hunter Culture)
2. Planet Preservation
3. Enemy Mine
4. The Visitor
5. Total Recall
6. Queen Of The Galaxy
7. Roughnecks
8. Blood In The Ice
9. Heart Of The Furyan
10. Altair IV: The Forbidden Planet
11. Always Right Here
12. Journey Beyond The Stars
Jason Ashcraft - Rhythm Guitar, Lead Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Bass
John Yelland - Vocals
Record Label: Divebomb Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 06 August 2020

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green