Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

38 guests

Welcome to our newest member, mariacmalonebay

Dirkschneider - Live-Back to the Roots-Accepted! Award winner

Live-Back to the Roots-Accepted!
by JOGANEGAR at 17 August 2017, 7:08 AM

When I first heard “Metal Heart,” it was the cover from DIMMU BORGIR released in 1994, with the deep growl-like Black metal style lyrics and all the orchestral and all the bombastic orchestrations that made this cover a grandiloquent version of the legendary Heavy Metal Classic; but when I came across the original variant, the voice of the singer would become reason enough to start a fruitful relationship with one of the bands I can call as a definite member of my all-time heavy metal top five.

How can one be partial when reviewing one of its most admired artists, a voice that turned a song like “Balls to the Wall” an entire classic rocketing what so consider the not so positive rise of Metal into the mainstream media in the decade of the eighties, and managing to carry the flame of pure organic power metal after two and a half decades with the trademark band U.D.O. and now releasing a double live album to commemorate his presence, trajectory and importance in one of the most important Heavy Metal bands of all time, ACCEPT. As a definite farewell to his time as their lead singer, Udo Dirkschneider released a statement during a press conference in the Wacken Open Air festival of 2016, expressing his strategy to launch a world tour dedicated to his period in ACCEPT as a way to give fans a chance to witness that era for the last time, before removing any song not belonging to the band that has sheltered him for almost 20 years U.D.O. from his live performances and this record has emerged as a result.

This two-disc live record is both a continuation and a farewell for the legendary German front man, as the recording of this live performances has spawned from Udo Dirkschneider’s decision to pay a one of a kind homage to ACCEPT doing what he does best giving a unique voice to the songs that are soundtracks to our lives as we were growing up in a world devoted to grunge and the idea of virtual reality brewing as an everyday concept of existence. To me the music of Udo Dirkschneider has always been the definition of inspiring; both as the singer of ACCEPT and as a solo artist, the amount of adrenaline produced by songs like “Metal Heart” with upfront lyrics entwined with melodic passages that appear to come from the imagination of Richard Wagner or Ludwig Van Beethoven along with the unique voice of Udo Dirkschneider and the thousands of voices singing along night after night and venue after venue shaped together in the recording of this Live-Back to the Roots-Accepted a double disc live album that cannot be missing from any Metal head collection for its memorability and for setting a division in the timeline of a cult musician like Udo Dirkschneider.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Memorability: 10
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Intro
2. Starlight
3. Living for Tonight
4. Flash Rockin’ Man
5. London Leather Boys
6. Midnight Mover
7. Breaker
8. Head over Hills
9. Neon Nights
10. Princess of the Dawn
11. Winter Dreams
12. Restless and Wild
13. Son of A Bitch
14. Up to the Limit

1. Wrong is Right
2.Midnight Highway
3. Screaming for a Love Bite
4. Monsterman
5. T.V. War
6. Losers and Winners
7. Metal Heart
8. I’m a Rebel
9. Fast as a Shark
10. Balls to the Wall
11. Burning
12. Outro (I Give as Good as I Get)
13. My Way (Bonus Track)
Udo Dirkschneider - Vocals 
Record Label: AFM Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green