Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

47 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

Disciples of Power - Ominous Prophecy (Reissue) Award winner

Disciples of Power
Ominous Prophecy (Reissue)
by Kyle Scott at 24 October 2018, 5:44 PM

DISCIPLES OF POWER was a powerful force to be heard in the heyday of underground metal, their debut album seeping from the cracks in the ground to infiltrate the airwaves of MTV back in the 80s. The band has been without their founder and original vocalist, Hart Bachmier since 2002, but they've kept on playing and ensured that their music is still as caustic as it was when they began. "Ominous Prophecy" is DISCIPLES OF POWER's sophomore album from 1992 and is currently getting the reissue treatment. The Disciples have come to eradicate us all!

A threatening aura surrounds the intro to the opening track "Chains of Reason". With haunting bass and booming synth, the song bursts like a blood-filled blister. Ugly, wriggling chords like dozens of parasitic worms crawl through the red mire. "Vindicator" is a frenetic timebomb featuring Hart Bachmier singing with a suffocating vice grip around his throat. "Nature's Fury (Betrayed Earth)" brings a tumultuous whirlwind of mangled chords. Forboding lyrics tell of a climate doomed planet drowning under its own ocean and terrible weather. "Witch of Lies" is a tale of succubi and having your morals broken down from the inside. Hart's bass and Dean Ralf's drums also add a primal level that's intense.

"Sleeping Dead" is a troubled slumber of dream-like chords rudely interrupted by bone-cracking riffs. The song tosses, it turns, it tries desperately to end their unholy nightmare, but can't. "The Rising" is peak, thunderous death that self-immolates under the friction of their own screaming riffs. On track seven, the Skeleton War has officially begun! Enlistment is tough and only a few will make it past Basic, but their marching anthem "Skull March" is on point and sure to set a fire into any skeleton soldier's heart. "Eternal Purgatory" ends the album on aggression, a song that is violent and bloody until the very end. "Ominous Prophecy" is a dire warning about the fate of your soul after listening!

Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 7


4 Star Rating

1. Chains of Reason
2. Vindicator
3. Nature's Fury (Betrayed Earth)
4. Witch of Lies
5. Sleeping Dead
6. The Rising
7. Skull March
8. Eternal Purgatory
Chris Chapman -Bass
Dean Ralf -Drums
Wes Sontag -Guitars
Colin Osterman -Guitars
Spencer Ball -Vocals
Record Label: Vic Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 13 July 2020

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green