Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook




Not logged in

Users online

39 guests

Welcome to our newest member, sydn700iv

Dracena - Cursed To The Night Award winner

Cursed To The Night
by Dana Lautzenheiser at 07 February 2018, 7:42 AM

DRACENA released “Cursed to the Night” via Inferno Records October 30, 2017. Once hailed as “Sweden’s heaviest all girl band” by The Encyclopedia of Swedish Hard Rock and Metal, DRACENA released three demos before the members parted ways in 2002. Since the split, Mia Larsson has continued work on DRACENA a releasing albums “Infernal Damnation” (2006) and “Ravenous Bloodlust” (2014). “Cursed to the Night” drops eight sinister tracks of bloodlust, demons, nightmares, and fear.

“The Strangeness” leads off with a creepy, distorted music box melody. The suspense builds; it’s as though a dark entity is creeping up behind. Furious drumming and aggressive guitar riffing rips. Mia’s vocals; raspy black metal growls, top off the sound.  Mia displays an impressive prowess with her guitar solo technique. “That You Fear the Most” follows grimly. “Cursed to the Night” swoops in without hesitation. Mia leads in with a shredding guitar solo and delivers a dark, heavy sound throughout. There is an interesting bit of a break down just before three minutes in where things slow down briefly before whipping right back up to speed. “Choirs of Torment” delivers another gruesome track with another intense guitar solo. Mia layers guitar riffs providing an interesting, atmospheric listening experience. “Elusive Madness” carries you away on a black wave of terror. The track flips between a thrashy sound and a nice heavy beat. I was beginning to get bored with the song until closer to the end when Mia painted another glorious sound scape with the solo.

“Masque of Death” stood out to me. I loved the melodic guitar line that led the track. “Inside the Blood Stained Walls” has an older metal sound. Mia stuns with another blistering guitar solo. The way that this woman plays will seriously scar you. The final ominous track, “The Shadow of What Once Was” features guest vocalist, Ola Malmström from SORCERY.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. The Strangeness
2. That You Fear the Most
3. Cursed to the Night
4. Choirs of Torment
5. Elusive Madness
6. Masque of Death
7. Inside the Blood Stained Walls
8. The Shadow of What Once Was
Mia Larsson- Vocals, Guitar, Bass
Jocke - Drums
Record Label: Inferno Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green