Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

52 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

Dream Child - Until Death Do We Meet Again

Dream Child
Until Death Do We Meet Again
by Justin "Witty City" Wittenmeier at 22 October 2018, 7:01 AM

DREAM CHILD is a super group featuring former members of OZZY’s band, AC/DC, DIO, QUIET RIOT, and WHITESNAKE, and HELKER but what does the band sound like exactly?  Think of the golden era of Hard Rock/Heavy Metal along the lines of DEEP PURPLE, RAINBOW, and more recent rockers like JORN. The focal point of the album is Diego Valdez and his expressive vocals.  Indeed, he does bear some resemblance to RONNIE JAMES himself but he isn’t a copy cat nor does he have the quirky charm.  With that said, he is a great vocalist and sang his ass off across the album. Musically, the riffs are a bit too thin; the songs seem to have been written for a much bigger guitar sound that is actually present but that is mostly due the drums and bass being a bit too up front in the mix.

Under The Wire,” kicks off the album with clean keys and some slick riffs that mix well with the keys.  The song has a decent groove to it and some very well done guitar solos.  “It Is What It is,” is a similar style song with a mid paced tempo and a middle part that rocks pretty hard before going into some well placed keys.  These two tracks are two of the best on the album and it isn’t any coincidence they are both under six minutes in length, which brings me to a problem with the album:  is a bit too long winded.  With thirteen tracks and a run time of well over seventy minutes, it is quite the piece of music to digest all at once.  Individually, some of the tracks run over six and seven minutes, too long for this style.  With that said, taken in smaller pieces, this album is a decent effort that hearkens back to simpler times when nothing mattered but rocking your face off. The middle portion of the album gets kind of muddled with songs that sound too much alike but the ending picks things up again, mostly due to the super catchy “In A World So Cold,” that has a chorus you’ll be humming for days and the song “Weird World,” which rocks pretty hard and is one of the better, and heaviest, songs on the album.

Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Memorability: 7
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. Under The Wire
2. You Can’t Take Me Down
3. Game of Shadows
4. It Is What It Is
5. Playin’ With Fire
6. Light of the Dark
7. Midnight Song
8. Until Death Do We Meet Again
9. Washed Upon The Shores
10. In A World So Cold
11. Weird World
12. One Step Beyond The Grave
13. Insufficient Therapy On Mars
Craig Goldy - Guitar
Wayne Findlay - Guitar, Keyboards
Simon Wright - Drums
Rudy Sarzo - Bass
Diego Valdez - Vocals
Record Label: Frontiers Music


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green