Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

25 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Edenbridge - The Chronicles of Eden Pt. 2 Award winner

The Chronicles of Eden Pt. 2
by "Metal Mark" Garcia at 23 January 2021, 7:18 AM

There are many reasons for a compilation album to exist. One of them is to present the fans a ‘best of’ collection, and to try to bring newer followers to their work; on others, is to celebrate an important moment. This is the case of “The Chronicles of Eden Pt. 2”, from the German band EDENBRIDGE: to celebrate their 20th anniversary.

“…Part 2” was conceived to be a celebration, and as it happened on “…Part 1”, the fans voted for the songs that are presented on this double CD release. And this time, here is the real thing from “The Grand Design” to “Dynamind”, but there are some previously unreleased tracks as well. So it’s an opportunity to introduce many fans to their Symphonic Metal work, based on a solid and to technically exaggerated music, with fine melodies and lovely tender appeal, where even Pagan/Folk touches can be heard in some moments.

The production took care to try to normalize all the differences between the songs (that are normal due the time and differences between the recordings, you know). And the final result is very good, allowing the songs to sound as all of them belonged to a same release, clean, heavy and loud.

To the fans from long date, “Dynamind (Easter 2020 Version)” (excellent in this tender and melodic introspective approach), “Paramount (Acoustic Version 2020)”, and “Higher (Acoustic Version 2020)” will be a fine reason for buying this double CD compilation, for they are the ones that were previously unreleased. For those that aren’t into their musical work until now, “Higher”, “On the Other Side” (where some Pagan/Folk touches are clear), “Alight a New Tomorrow”, the catchy and heavy approach of “Shadowplay”, “Brothers on Diamir”, the contrasts shown on “Tauerngold”, “Live and Let Go” (this one shows a Power Pop touch on the melodies), “Mystic River”, “Skyline’s End” (an oriental feeling can be felt on this one), the catchy accessible feeling of “The Memory Hunter”, “Paramount”, and “MyEarthDream” (more than 12 minutes with many variations and ambiences) form the core of an excellent opportunity to know the band’s work.

EDENBRIDGE really deserves to be better known among the fans of Symphonic Metal. If you don’t know them, do yourself a favor and hear “The Chronicles of Eden Pt. 2” to correct this.

Songwriting: 9
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 8
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

Disc 1:

1. Higher
2. On the Other Side
3. Shiantara
4. Alight a New Tomorrow
5. Until the End of Time
6. Shadowplay
7. The Greatest Gift of All
8. Dynamind (easter version 2020)
9. Brothers on Diamir
10. Paramount (acoustic version 2020)
11. Tauerngold
12. The Bonding

Disc 2:

1. Live and Let Go
2. Mystic River
3. MyEarthDream Suite (For Guitar and Orchestra) (instrumental)
4. The Moment is Now
5. Skyline’s End
6. The Memory Hunter
7. Remember Me
8. Inward Passage (instrumental)
9. Paramount
10. Higher (acoustic version 2020)
11. Into a Sea of Souls
12. Bon Voyage Vagabond
13. Eternity (instrumental)
14. MyEarthDream
Sabine Edelsbacher - Vocals
Lanvall - Guitars, Bass, 6 & 12 String Acoustic Guitars, Piano, Keyboards, Orchestration, Hammered Dulcimer, Kacapi, Bouzouki, Mandolin
Dominik Sebastian - Guitars
Stefan Gimpl - Bass
Johannes Jungreithmeier - Drums
Record Label: SPV Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green