Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

47 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Electric Mob - Discharage Award winner

Electric Mob
by Kevin Lewis at 03 August 2020, 6:29 PM

ELECTRIC MOB is a fantastic new band out of Brazil. Formed in Curitiba in 2016, “Discharge” is their debut album and is a bluesy, Hard Rock record packed full of sonic goodness. The disc was released on June 10, 2020 through Frontiers Records. This band is a killer mixture of intricate guitar riffs, pounding rhythms and excellent vocals. Renan Zonta even competed on The Voice Brazil, making it to the Elimination Round. In classic Hard Rock fashion, he performed AC/DC’sHighway To Hell” and Guns ‘n Roses’Sweet Child O’ Mine”.

The album opens with a “awaken”, a 33 seconds intro that leads into “Devil You Know”. This is a song about that guy who is not necessarily good for you, but you just can’t quit them. Relationship themes pervade this record, hinting at the good, the bad and the ugly parts of human interactions. “Far Off” is about the person you cannot quit, no matter how wrong it is. Why does it feel so right? Then “Gypsy Touch” has us hating the way she does it, but knowing you are not going to stop.

My two favorite songs on this album are “your ghost” and “123 BURN”. Renan’s vocals just absolutely shine on these tracks. Using everything from a falsetto to a rasp to a scream, his immense talent just soars on these songs. What’s even better is that the band behind him doesn’t back down and hide in the background, they follow his lead and prove this is a complete, well-rounded band that can make incredible songs. “your ghost” is that song about the love lost to death that makes you wish to follow into the unknown realm just to be reunited. Who doesn’t enjoy a great love lost and longing for it song?

Continuing on, the last four songs on the record are much the same quality wise, but all different. There are no two songs that are really even similar on this album. While they all fit into the same musical category, they are all unique. Some bands find a sound and stick to it so much they really sound almost like a copy of themselves. That is NOT the case here. This is a band that sounds like a breath of fresh air from start to finish. Need to hear more about these guys?

The guitarist can play multiple styles; bluesy, Hard Rock, ethereal, even more Metal at times. The drummer can stay in the background or run out front and take the lead. The bass provides such a solid foundation that you know he’s there, but don’t even need to listen for it, you just trust it to be right on time. That does not mean you don’t hear him, you do. You just don’t have to strain to pick up what he’s laying down. I’ve already spoken about the vocalist, but that won’t stop me from mentioning him again. He is a star. He deserves to be on stage. The best thing about that is the band around him are just as good.

I have found a new band that will go into my “current favorite” list. ELECTRIC MOB are now in the same league as SEVEN SPIRES, LACUNA COIL and NONPOINT, all bands that stay in heavy rotation on my playlists. This is not something I say lightly. I do not just award heavy rotation to anyone. This is the 22nd band I have reviewed for this website and they are my favorite so far. Not by a small margin. I want these guys to tour the New England area in North America. I want to see them live. This is a band you need in your life. Give them a listen. Now!

Songwriting:  10
Musicianship:  10
Memorability:  9
Production:  9

5 Star Rating

1. awaken
2. Devil You Know
3. King’s Ale
4. Got Me Runnin’
5. Far Off
6. your ghost
7. Gypsy Touch
8. 123 BURN
9. Upside Down
10. Higher Than Your Heels
11. brand new rope
12. We Are Wrong
Renan Zonta – Vocals
Yuri Elero – Bass
André Leister – Drums
Ben Hur – Guitar
Record Label: Frontiers Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green