Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

Steinmetal, 37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, outchicoma81

Embrace The Dawn - The Effigist

Embrace The Dawn
The Effigist
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 07 December 2017, 2:33 AM

EMBRACE THE DAWN is a Progressive Death Metal band based currently out of Sydney, Australia, but with multi-national members in the current line-up. Guitarist Ben Tinker formed the outfit in 2015. Following the release of an EP that year, the band have here for us their debut full-length, titled “The Effigist.” “Effigy” as defined is a sculpture or model of a person. The album contains eight tracks.

“Cold Black Hole” leads us off. The mournful opening notes and anguished Death vocals lead to  a technical fury of dancing riffs and rhythmic shifting. There is a sterility to the track as well, as the mechanics are more prominent that any emotional outbursts. “Putrefaction of God” as a title translates to decomposition or decay. Punchy guitar riffs work in unison with bass and drums, creating a tight mid-section and dazzling display of musicianship. The lyrics don’t hold back as he touts “I drink the blood of my children.” “Cerebral Sanitation” is a little faster and has some layering from background elements that help to warm up the intensity of the accented rhythms. “The Tide” is the longest song on the album, at over six minutes. The long build up is great. It really gives you a suspenseful pause and a longing for what might follow. With a bit of a more linear riff, it moves forward in a less winding way. The guitar work is once again amazing; especially the lead breaks, as they swirl around in a heavy mist of techni-color, twisting and climbing in front of your eyes.

“Lady Snowblood” follows a closer melody line but still has that dissonance that is so pleasing in this kind of music. Some of the percussion work in this track is just crushing. “Death, You Can’t Control” is a two-and-a-half minute burner. The Progressive elements of the album are in the storefront window here, with more meter changes that your mind can comprehend at times. “Singularity” is similar in length, with an opening snippet of bass guitar dominance. The anomalous sound is prompt and durable. Don’t look for solace in conventional and continuous pathways here, as the song is like a higher math equation. “Tartarus” closes the album. Darkness pervades the opening sequence, thick with programming. From there it is a sweltering chaos of heavy rhythms and incensed vocals. The ambient fade out at the end is a nice closing feature.

Overall this was an excellent listening experience. If you crave those heavy technical features in music and odd time meters to go along with your Death Metal, this is an ideal album to have. Like the fires of industry, it is bleak and sterile, and a place where melody is hidden away. Pulverizing and compelling, it will take you as its prisoner, forever devoid of light.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Cold Black Hole
2. Putrefaction of God
3. Cerebral Sanitation
4. The Tide
5. Lady Snowblood
6. Death, You Can’t Control
7. Singularity
8. Tartarus
Ben Tinker – Guitar, Programming, Songwriting
Roger Isaksen – Vocals
Denis Landry – Bass
Kevin Talley – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 23 October 2018

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green