Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

55 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Enbound - The Blackened Heart

The Blackened Heart
by Miky Ruta at 21 January 2017, 10:41 PM

Swedish melodic band ENBOUND was formed back in 2006 and released the marvellous debut, “And She Said Gold”, back in 2011, only to disappear in the myriad of Melodic Metal bands. However, five long years afterwards, and they are finally back to deliver their sophomore album, “The Blackened Heart”.

ENBOUND have definitely grown since their debut and deliver a great blend of Power Metal and Melodic Hard Rock that comes together to construct a powerful and epic sound.

Drummer Mike Cameron Force alongside guitarist Marvin Flowberg, vocalist Lee Hunter (WORK OF ART) and bassist Swede Odén have produced an entertainingly addictive, fully classic, evocative wall of Melodic Metal.

“The Blackened Heart” starts with a catchy piece “Falling” where we find interesting vocal techniques from Marvin Flowberg, and a very special guest appearance from vocalist Linnéa Wikström (KAMELOT, THERION). The song is well-built in its rhythms and has epic keyboards parts interlaced with fast galloping guitars.

“Give Me Light”, the second tune of the album, continues in the appealing anthem style giving huge riffs and cadenced drumbeats. Various layers of synths fill the richness of the sound and it supports perfectly the strong chorus presence.

“Feel My Flame” has got a punchy start, with captivating rhythms full of power, and speed. Hunter’s vocals are superb, displaying an impressive range. This song sees the courtesy of a guest appearance from SYMPHONY X’s, Mike LePond, who gives a wonderful bass interlude in the middle of the song.

We are at the core and at the strongest part of the album now, as we get on the majestic beauty of “Twelve”. The tune starts with the splendid riffs of violins, which accompany perfectly Odén’s bass melodies. The song keeps giving with a stupendous solo, changes of rhythms, epic choruses and a strong vocal presence. Definitely the best piece of the album.

ENBOUND also added a slow ballad ‘They Don’t Really Know’ which is the most different track of the album.  It starts beautifully with only piano and vocal, and then it grows with the guitar addition.

ENBOUND have delivered great melodic album of the year and even managed to get a heavier sound compared to their debut. Give it a go!

Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Memorability: 7
Production: 10

4 Star Rating

1. Fallin
2. Give Me Light
3. Crossroad
4. Get Ready For
5. Feel My Flame
6. Twelve
7. Holy Grail
8. Hio
9. They Don’t Really Know
10. Make You So Unreal
Marvin Flowberg - Cupronickel
Mike Cameron Force - Cementite
Lee Hunter - Lithium Oxide
Swede Odén - Chromium Carbide
Record Label: Inner Wound Recordings


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green