Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

27 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Exodo - The New Babylon (Reissue)

The New Babylon (Reissue)
by Garrett Davis at 27 September 2016, 8:15 PM

EXODO is classic 1980s Spanish Power/Heavy Metal. "The New Babylon" was an underground hit with a limited release that gained a small cult following before band split up in 1990. This is its first official CD rerelease, which includes two never before released bonus tracks. The band’s bassist and backup vocalist, Seni Lopez (RIP) had sadly passed away back in 2007 and NO REMORSE RECORDS has rereleased the LP with some bonus tracks and is available through their website. I always try to approach older albums and re-releases with a certain amount of objectivity; for the musical landscape changes drastically in only a few short years, so after almost 30 years, what was considered fresh for its time can be out-dated by modern standards.

"Groups of Defense" is a fantastic Power Metal opener, with a rapid baseline, high-ranging vocals and a simple chorus that is pretty catchy. "Sex" has a smooth and groovy feeling and it seduces you along the way with soulful vocals and wailing guitar riffs. "Born to be Wild" has an apt title for the sound it brings. With a free and airy sound, coupled with some fierce instrumental work across the board, it has an untamed quality that makes it really infectious. One of my favourite tracks from the album however, is "Thunders in the City"; with its powerful guitar and drum work along with the high-pitched and clear vocals.

With everything that’s been said, while "The New Babylon" shows its age, it doesn't come across as out-dated, but instead it has a nostalgic strength and reminds me of JUDAS PRIEST and IRON MAIDEN. It has the same grand scale and similar soaring, warbling, and almost operatic vocals. Inaki's vocals remind me a lot of Bruce Dickinson, with their similar range and control. The bonus tracks are also a great addition for those who have managed to get their hands on a copy of the original vinyl, and for the rest of us they make for an enjoyable finale to a cool blast from the past. As a matter of fact, I went right on to their website and purchased the album myself! If you want some soulful Power Metal from an unsung band who might deserve more recognition, check out "The New Babylon" by EXODO.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Memorability: 9
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

  1. Groups of Defence
  2. The New Babylon
  3. Sex
  4. Born to be Wild
  5. Just One Day
  6. Thunders in the City
  7. Sons of the Night
  8. Heart in Flames
  9. Mercenaria De La Noche (Bonus Track)
  10. The New Babylon (Bonus Track)
Inaki Urkizu - Lead Vocals
Seni Lopez – Bass, Backing Vocals
Koldo Pizarro – Drums
Quique Villegas– Guitars
Jose Luis Arbide – Guitars
Record Label: No Remorse Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 27 September 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green