Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

26 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Mayfair - Behind (Reissue)

Behind (Reissue)
by Yassine "Spiritcrusher" Mankai at 29 April 2013, 2:08 PM

Since the release of the album "Fastest Trip to Cyber​​-town" in 1998, and after several appearances on stage, the Austrian band MAYFAIR did not rise to the surface. In fact, the members decided to put the project on hold. For more than 10 years of existence, the band's discography has been marked with three albums and three demos that have given the personality of their music.

In 2010, the group announced its return to the rehearsal room after more than ten years, with the goal, find the old days, and brought new inspirations for the next challenges. For MAYFAIR the mission is to reinvent the style that has always revolved around a highly experimental Progressive Metal, but also, it must be distinguished itself from other similar groups who are producing a great sound, so obviously the mission does not appear easy. For this, and as a foretaste of what is to come behind the scenes, the band released a double CD with the label Pure Prog Records, which contains a subsequent version of "Behind" the first cult album released in 1993 completely re-mastered, but without changing much its raw character. The output also contains the demo "Find My Screams Behind This Gate".

Listening to all the two CDs, I noticed that the musical maturity of the Austrians is remarkable. We can compare their styles to groups like VOIVOD or COHEED AND CAMBRIA with a very perfect bass guitar parts forming a couple with the drums, which is ensured by forward by the new member, Jolly. The guitar stands out tremendously with a tone that is the secret of guitarist Réne. And to complete it all, the very personalized voice of Mario Prûnster which requires asking questions about, how can these men pushed the limits of creation?

MAYFAIR announced their return with a second version of "Behind", waiting for what will happen very soon.

3 Star Rating

CD 1
1. Behind
2. Advanced In Years
3. Generation Isolated
4. Madame Pest
5. Schlaflos Müde
6. Ecstasy

CD 2
1. Daily Screams
2. Pt. II Long Past And Forgotten…?
3. Man Of Sorrows
4. Adam
5. Dear Julia
6. Tears
7. Last Spring
8. Fegefeuer
9. Individual Circus
10. Emptiness
11. Man Of Sorrows
Mario - Vocals
Rene - Guitar
Hannes - Bass
Jolly - Drums
Record Label: Pure Prog Records


Item has a rating of 3
1 Vote(s)
You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green