Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 29 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

F.K.U. - 4: Rise Of The Mosh Mongers

4: Rise Of The Mosh Mongers
by Michael "MettleAngel" Francisco at 01 April 2013, 5:36 PM

Tightening the waist band of Horror, Punk, and Thrash Freddy Krueger's Ünderwear return with their fourth grave offering, now signed to Napalm Records. Fans of DR. LIVING DEAD, GAMA BOMB, H.O.D., BIRTH A.D., as well as old school Crossover acts like M.O.D., EXCEL, SUICIDAL TENDENCIES, will enjoy getting caught in the rip and snare of these moshoholics' nightmare reality.

With tongue firmly planted in their ass cheeks, these disciples of the mosh find pleasure by feeding on the flesh of poseurs, alone in the dark. Still striving to be mettle moshing madmen, this Horror Metal Brigade continue the fine art of murder and mayhem. They scream blood gore based graphic descriptions for their favorite slasher flicks like “Terror Train” or “112 Ocean Avenue” which addresses the mystery of the Amityville Horror House.

The album begins with enough insanity and violence to let the shadows fall on your faith and fears. This is characterized by “Rise Of The Moshmongers”. This revolting carcass is followed by the blistering “Black Hole Hell”. The ludicrous “Marz Attacks”, which sounds exactly like S.O.D.'s “Milano Mosh”, replete with the exact same mosh riff, appears to deal with a mad woodsman running rampant with an axe. Am I to assume his name is  Marz? While I am at it, speaking of imitations of life to be taken, see if you can recognize the mimicked music used to elevate “At The Mountains Of Madness”. At least the palatable and risible “Cannibal Detox” once again proves the old adage that once you are bit, well, that is it!

Larry Lethal has that Paul Bailoff meets Zetro Sousa edge to his tone, with a hint of Chuck Billy. Occasionally he will scream shrill for added effect. An example of this would be “Esox Lucius” (The Pike). Pete shreds with more head bashing riffs, even though there is still a dearth of meaty solos. Dr. Ted kills the drum and shreds the skins. Meanwhile you will feel the Midas touch of Pat Splat's bass sick crunch, which often allows for more stomp and shake, and the death rattle of your goddamned head.

Overall, the humor and insalubrious effect is still felt in spades, but the songs are not as cleverly cleaved or conceived as they have been on past releases. I long for the Metal moshing machine headbanging anthems from such grisly works as “Sometimes They Come Back…To Mosh” or “Where Moshers Dwell”. The production is impressive, and seekers who are not privy to where these smashers dwelt, will want to dig up the past, and roll the bones.

When these zombies attack I want to feel the fatal blow of the axe as it grinds into my tortured skull. This time around I feel as if the twitch of the thrash nerve is just not as pervasive or penetrating. “They Feed In The Dark” has a very familiar riff, and fans of TESTAMENT will get the excellent joke that is on you. “Anthem Of The Moshoholics” is a bit boring, and the stage diving / into the pit madness and speed does not occur until the very end.

If this is the Moshocalypse and World War Z then the undead melodies need to come back to life to haunt me. For if this is my highway to horror high, then this almost metal mosh fest must completely consume me. C'mon guys you know the drill. This nightmare made thrash needs more venomous fury and grave robbing mania.

3 Star Rating

1. Moshocalypse now
2. Rise of the Mosh Mongers
3. Black Hole Hell
4. Cannibal Detox
5. The Uberslasher Pt. 1
6. Scream Bloody Mosher
7. Esox Lucius
8. The Uberslasher Pt. 2
9. At the Mountains of Madness
10. A Nightmare Made Thrash
11. 112 Ocean Avenue
12. The Uberslasher Pt. 3
13. Marz Attacks
14. Terror Train
15. The Uberslasher Pt. 4
16. They Feed in the Dark
17. Anthem of the Moshoholics
18. We're Evil
Lawrence "Larry Lethal" Mackrory – Vocals
Pete Stooaahl Lans – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Pat "Patrik Sporrong" Splat – Bass, Backing Vocals
Dr. Ted Killer Miller Möller – Drums, Backing Vocals
Record Label: Napalm Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green