Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

42 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Fairyland - Score To A New Beginning (CD)

Score To A New Beginning
by Grigoris Chronis at 06 May 2009, 2:36 PM

Symphonic Metal, right? A weird case. 50 minutes of keyboard-fronted 'soundtrack' songs delivered by FAIRYLAND, a French band that started as a normal outfit featuring female vocals, then changing to a male singer and now - since the rest of the band lift off - sees only keyboardist-songwriter Philippe Giordana behind the wheel. Score To A New Beginning is said to be the third part of the FAIRYLAND trilogy, with Of Wars In Osyrhia (2003) and The Fall Of An Empire (2006) holding earlier credits.
Helping Philippe in this new album is a dozen (or more) of musicians from - mainly - the French Symphonic/Power/Prog Metal scene (no 'big' name, which is a good move). With their valuable contribution the French artist builds up a song structure dominated by keyboards melodies/backing chords/solos stepping on some RHAPSODY-esque formulas; at least the general view points out to that direction, creating initial summary. Fact is the arrangements are well-delivered and the guests do their thing in full dignity and honesty. Still, the songwriting is so similar from track to track that - omitting the horsepower of the guitars - you may end up falling asleep in the middle of the audition. Some songs (like e.g. Master Of The Waves or Godsent) make the difference by heading to a KAMELOT/CONCEPTION direction, but the whole concept suffers from fact like e.g. the overloaded exposure of keys; as if it's a seminar on keyboards…
The female vocals sessions will remind you of EPICA and stuff. The male vocals will remind you of everything going on in the Symphonic Metal in Europe the last decade. For Arjen Anthony Lucassen's lovers, a resemblance with the AYREON works is not out of the question, but not identical. Listening to the album for the first time, I thought it was semi-interesting. With the second audition I kinda felt a little fed up. From the third one and onwards it was a matter of time to stop expecting something to lock my brain with desire, except for the guitar solos I believe.
Recommended only to die-hard fans of this sub-genre; just the crazy ones.

2 Star Rating

Opening Credits
Across The Endless Sea Part II
Assault On The Shore
Master Of The Waves
A Soldier's Letter
At The Gates Of Morken
Rise Of The Giants
Score To A New Beginning
End Credits
Philippe Giordana - Keyboards, Backing Vocals, Acoustic Guitars

Marco Sandron - Lead Vocals
Flora Spinelli - Lead Vocals (track 10)
Georg Neuhauser - Vocals (tracks 2, 3, 5, 9, 10)
Klaaire - Vocals (tracks 4, 5, 9)
Geraldine Gadaut - Vocals (track 7)
Jean-Gabriel Bocciarelli - Vocals (track 7)
Fabio D'Amore - Bass, Vocals, Guitar Solo (track 6)
Willdric Lievin - Drums, Choirs
Chris Menta - Rhythm & Acoustic Guitars, Guitar Solos (track 5)
Alessio Velliscig - Guitar Solo (track 2)
Alex Corona - Guitar Solos (tracks 3, 6, 9)
Olivier Lapauze - Guitar Solo (track 9)
Hugo Lefebvre - Guitar Solo (track 4)
Yann Mouhad - Guitar Solo (track 4)
Remy Carrayrou - Guitar Solo (track 7)
Marc Rhulmann - Keyboard Solo (track 9)
Record Label: Napalm Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green