Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 49 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Fall and Resist – Darkness of Now

Fall and Resist
Darkness of Now
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 28 September 2022, 2:06 PM

FALL AND RESIST is a Metalcore band hailing from Australia, and formed in 2016. To date, the band has released an EP and their debut full-length, and now return with another EP. Titled “Darkness of Now,” The EP contains four songs. “Creators of our own Demise” is the first. Following a melodic and somewhat ethereal opening, a heavy riff and aggressive sound ensues. The vocalist has a deep delivery, and the guitar work is fairly intricate as well. I would characterize the sound as closer to Melodic Death Metal, but that is neither here nor there. The drummer is the real hero here, alternating his pacing with deadly precision. The ending sequence is similar to the opening.

“Nothing but Pain” begins with dancing guitars and drums before the heavy riff and drums drop. I wish the bass guitar parts were just a little more pronounced, as they could bring some more texture to the sound. “Transient Forgiveness” is a more brutal and punishing song without much compromise. The gutturals around the chorus are nice, barbarous change of pace. “As It All Starts to Fray” closes the EP. The beginning is tenuous and gives the sound a chance to develop. From there, the pit opens to an all-out assault. There is a little melody in the guitar work but it drops in favor of the harsher sounds.

This was a good album, but could have been better. The band is clearly talented, but they present a bit too much of a one-dimensional sound on the EP. Clean vocals can help diversity their sound, as can a little more atmospheric or ambient moments. They are there, just not as pronounced. Many bands in this style have the Death Metal side down pat, but where some of them falter a bit is on the melodic side of things.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 7
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. Creators of our own Demise
2. Nothing but Pain
3. Transient Forgiveness
4. As It All Starts to Fray
Frosty – Vocals/Guitars
Brendon – Guitars
Rory – Bass
Benito – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green