Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

45 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Fange – Privation

by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 25 January 2023, 6:46 AM

From their EPK, “Clocking in at 40 minutes and seven tracks, the now-quartet raises the bar at every single level to serve their vision: writing more memorable, emotionally-charged tracks without sacrificing the maniacal abrasion of their previous material. This album appears as FANGE's most expressive work, not afraid to balance their trademark wall of noise with more tempered elements, with clean guitars channeling the bleakness of postpunk and cold wave.” The album has seven songs.

“A La Racine” is the first. The opening tones are sterile, and almost Industrial. Rhythm guitars are downtuned so the rumble can be felt at your feet, and the vocals vary from screams to gutturals. The background is enhanced with harrowing effects. “Sang-Vinairgre” features an eerie sound, as if emanating from a basement torture chamber. The “machines” that are referred to as one of the instruments provides a lot of that sound. “Les Crocs Limes” is heavy with machine effects and pig squeals in the guitars. The rhythms work with the bass to provide a punishing bottom end…the stuff nightmares are made of…and the drums pound away.

“Ne Pour Trahir” is a slow meat grinder that will process flesh, bone, and connective tissue. The ambient pause every now and again expands the sound, and adds more dimension to the music. “Enfers Inocules” is a tad more chaotic. The slow pace still allows the sound to sink in deep, but there is also a good deal of backing elements in the mix, and are in just the right places. “Portes D’Ivoire” is the longest on the album, at over seven-minutes. Weighted rhythms continue in their brutality, while the vocals are twisted and tortured. The clean vocals are a bit of a surprise, but they oddly work well with the sound.

“Extreme-Onction” closes the album, with another portly, cumbersome sound. The unbearable weight of this song might crush you into dust. As it continues, you can feel whatever life you have in you being slowly sucked away. Overall, this album was a deadly combination of Industrial, Sludge, and Death Metal elements, with harrowing background ambiance. It is alive with torture, yet from a body near the end without a soul. Wandering like zombies through a landscape of pillage and war, they seem oblivious to all the explosions and guns going off every minute. Look into their eyes, and you will see the horror reflected within. A second gaze might prove too dangerous. Look away, and run for your life.

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 9
Production: 8

Purchase Link:

4 Star Rating

1. A La Racine
2. Sang-Vinaigre
3. Les Crocs Limes
4. Ne Pour Trahir
5. Enfers Inocules
6. Portes D’Ivoire
7. Extreme-Onction
Antoine Perron – Bass, Vocals
Benjamin Moreau – Guitars, Vocals, Machines
Matthias Jungbluth – Vocals, Lyrics
Vague – Guitars, Vocals
Record Label: Throatruiner Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green