Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

49 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Feral Ghost - Speed of Light

Feral Ghost
Speed of Light
by Darren Duffy at 16 June 2021, 10:23 AM

FERAL GHOST is a six-piece London-based outfit put together by singer / songwriter Danny Warwick in 2012. They play a brand of 70s infused rock. This has led to comparisons with the likes of FLEETWOOD MAC, THE EAGLES and PINK FLOYD.

“Speed of Light” is their second album and was released on March 21st via Yellow Rhinestone Records. This release follows on some six years after their 2014 debut “A Gathering Storm”. Their debut album was nominated for CD of the year by the Indie Music Digest, subsequent singles “This Is Life” and “Could This Be Love” went on to break into the top ten in the Official European Independent Music Chart, as well as charting strongly in the US.

The album kicks off with the upbeat opener “Roll the Dice”. The FLEETWOOD MAC comparison springs to mind straight away due to the layered male / female vocal harmonies. There is a far more laid-back style on the bittersweet “It's Been a Long Time My Friend”. This track has been released as an official music video. “The Lighthouse” begins with a piano intro eventually building up to a big chorus showcasing some superb vocal harmonies.

The title track of the album is up next and raises the tempo in this feel-good tune. “Love Will Find a Way” is a much slower composition that builds to an uplifting memorable chorus.“The Mirror” is a brooding track beginning with female lead vocals, around the halfway mark Danny Warwick combines the vocals and an overdriven guitar adds some momentum to the latter part of the song. The restrained pace continues with a strong feeling of melancholy on “Invisible”. “Say It's Not Too Late” is another of the up-tempo tunes and has been released as an official music video. “My Sanctuary” is another showcase for the impressive vocal harmonies. There is a quirky sense of humour within “Watch the World Go By” which changes to a more serious subject matter on “Without a Trace”. The last song “Here We Go Again” finishes off the album with yet another memorable chorus.

In conclusion, the majority of the tracks are of a slow-burn pensive nature with just a few less serious up-tempo tracks. The layered vocals are superb throughout whether it is on the upbeat or the slow brooding tracks, making this album worth checking out for that alone.

Songwriting 8
Musicianship 7
Memorability: 7
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1. Roll the Dice
2. It's Been a Long Time My Friend
3. The Lighthouse
4. Speed of Light
5. Love Will Find a Way
6. The Mirror
7. Invisible
8. Say It's Not Too Late
9. My Sanctuary
10. Watch the World Go By
11. Without a Trace
12. Here We Go Again
Danny Warwick – Vocals, guitar
Chloe Hunter – Vocals, percussion
Andy Watt – Guitar
Lisanne Otten – Keys
Marino Donati – Bass
Paul Castleman – Drums
Record Label: Yellow Rhinestone Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 29 November 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green