Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Fixation - Global Suicide Award winner

Global Suicide
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 12 August 2020, 12:04 PM

From their Facebook page, “heavy soundscapes, catchy melodies, and impressive vocals hit hard on FIXATION’s debut EP, where every track is an instant hit. Their lyrics focus on important subjects like the climate crisis, political injustice and mental health. While encouraging and supporting those who struggle, their message shows that they are tired of the greedy, self-centered way that many world leaders act and how so many of them disregard equality and basic human rights.” “Global Suicide” contains four tracks.

“Neurosis” leads off the album. It opens with a raucous energy and clean vocals in the verses, as the bass guitar thumps away. Some vocal harmonies develop as well. The melodies shine brightly in the chorus. Color me blind, but I also pick up on some Progressive elements here. The interlude with just vocals is a nice variation as well. “Survive” opens with clean, emotive vocals and some atmosphere. Jonas really has a really nice voice. The chorus is full on with melody. There is also some nice layering at the second chorus. This band knows what it’s doing, that’s for sure. If those vocal harmonies don’t get you, the guitar work will.

“Bloodline” opens slowly and cautiously, before the main riff hits, high with melodies. The verses are dark and then crescendo to the full on sound in the chorus. The band is very good at creating big, catchy melodies at the right time. “What have we Done” closes the EP. It’s another laden with big, emotional moments in both the vocals and the music. It really hits you in the chorus. They remind me of American counterparts MUTINY WITHIN. The lead guitar work over the bed of keys after the second chorus is fantastic. It ends with a pensive fade-out that sticks with you.

I want more! This Norwegian quintet seems to be able to capitalize on what is best in the world of Rock and Metal today…big, emotional choruses and big melodies at the proper times. Singer Jonas Hansen really knows how to get the most feeling out of his vocals, and the rest of the band play in a tight synchronization that really rivals many longer tenured bands out there. I am very much looking forward to their debut full-length release, because this is an undeniable winner.

Songwriting: 9
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Neurosis
2. Survive
3. Bloodline
4. What have we Done
Jonas Hansen – Vocal and keys
Martin Gravdal – Bass
Martin Stenstad Selen – Guitar
Mats Klevar Holm – Drums
Tobias Østerdal – Guitar
Record Label: Indie Recordings


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green