Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Floor - Oblation

by V. Srikar at 20 May 2014, 7:33 PM

So after self-titled debut album ‘Floor’ (2002) and then multiple line-up changes, desert rockers FLOOR are back with their 2nd full length album with ‘Oblation’. Mixing a dash of Drone and Doom, FLOOR brings in their unique brand of Desert Stoner Metal well recognised among the Stoner Metal fans.

With all band members being from other recognized Stoner Metal bands, FLOOR has huge expectations and they almost deliver. With mid tempo free flowing guitar riffs of Anthony Vialon and Steve Brooks, the music flows just like a stream of water and the songs end even before you realize and hence even though there are 14 songs it doesn’t really test the listener’s patience! But I must mention the band did surprise me with an occasional faster song like the last one “Forever Still’.

With lazy, easy on the ears style clean vocals, Steve Brooks delivers impeccable vocal performance in this record. The drums of Henry Wilson are mostly of mid tempo as is usually the case with these kind of records and deliver as expected but do nothing noteworthy. And as both the guitarists are able to bring out the drone and doomy sound out of the speakers, the lack of bassist doesn’t really affect FLOOR here. It’s quite hard to pick a favourite song as all the songs follow the same pattern though with little changes in riffs and drone effects and is actually the only major disappointing factor. The lyrics deserve special mention as the band goes philosophical in their lyrics speaking about life’s journey and pain that comes along with it.

While the production under CONVERGE guitarist Kurt Ballou and Alan Douches (BARONESS, BLACK TUSK, MOTÖRHEAD) is modern unlike the music itself, it works just fine for the record, and as a whole ‘Oblation’ demands multiple listens to absorb all the beauty and intricacies present in the record and it helps that the music is easy on the ears and I expect the band to impress both old and new fans alike, though this is nothing ground breaking.

4 Star Rating

1. Oblation
2. Rocinante
3. Trick Scene
4. Find Away
5. The Key
6. New Man
7. Sister Sophia
8. The Quill
9. Love Comes Crushing
10. War Party
11. Homegoings and Transitions
12. Sign of Aeth
13. Raised to a Star
14. Forever Still
Anthony Vialon- Guitar
Henry Wilson- Drums
Steve Brooks- Vocals, Guitar
Record Label: Season Of Mist


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 23 March 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green