Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

48 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

Flotsam and Jetsam - The End of Chaos

Flotsam and Jetsam
The End of Chaos
by "Metal Mark" Garcia at 26 January 2019, 7:25 AM

The Metal scene is not fair with its bands. Of course, it’s impossible to track each Metal band that exists, but there are unfair things that make everyone’s skin crawl. One example: are there only SLAYER, METALLICA, MEGADETH and ANTHRAX in the North American Thrash Metal scene? Obviously not, but other names don’t call the same attention from the fans, even with excellent releases. One of those bands with an unfair history to tell is from Phoenix (Arizona) home-based quintet FLOTSAM AND JETSAM, a living legend into USA underground that refuses to give up and is back with another album, “The End of Chaos”.

The band is well-known by old school Metalheads due the fact that their former bass player Jason Newsted replaced Cliff Burton on METALLICA on 1986, just a bit after the release of the band’s first album, “Doomsday for the Deceiver”. But their value has been proven since them, and their melodic mix between melodies with an abrasive insight of Thrash Metal, what has earned the band the comparisons of a mix between METALLICA and QUEENSRYCHE. And on “The End of Chaos”, we find the same musical ways of “Doomsday for the Deceiver” and “No Place for Disgrace”, only with updates to fit on this time. Yes, it’s amazing to hear the band in such form, playing wild and with energy, free of all compromises and delivering this melodic lash of Metal to the fans.

Jacob Hansen (the Danish producer that plays guitar on from PYRAMAZE, and that worked with ABORTED, DESTRUCTION, EPICA, KAMELOT, PRIMAL FEAR, VOLBEAT and others) is who signs the mixing and mastering of the album, and he helped the band to create a perfect sound quality for “The End of Chaos”: clean and silky (allowing the melodies to flow and to be assimilated by the senses of the listener), but always aggressive (due the tunes used by the band on the musical instruments). And it fits on the modern outfit of these times, but never opening hand from the 80’s essence of their musical work.

Musically, it’s clear: Flotzilla is back to unleash chaos in form of music, and 12 excellent songs await to tear your ears out. But the energy blow of “Prisoner of Time” (amazing melodies and an excellent chorus, with bass guitar and drums showing that the quintet doesn’t live on the past), the fast and furious violence of “Control” (it’s amazing how the voice of Eric improved since the 80’s and it’s better now than on the past), the catchy and charming tempos of “Prepare for Chaos” (the guitars are great, creating excellent melodies on the aggressive riffs and hypnotic solos), the fury in form of music of “Slowly Insane” and “Architects of Hate” (both with sharp guitar parts), the traditional melodic Thrash Metal song on their way on “Snake Eye”, and the thrashing bitter aggressiveness on “The End” are the finest moments of the album., but it’s too hard to find a best moment on “The End of Chaos”.

Hear this album at any cost, for the rebel pack of Flotzilla is back for get their rightful place in the Metal scene.

Originality: 10
Songwriting: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 9

5 Star Rating

1. Prisoner of Time
2. Control
3. Recover
4. Prepare for Chaos
5. Slowly Insane
6. Architects of Hate
7. Demolition Man
8. Unwelcome Surprise
9. Snake Eye
10. Survive
11. Good or Bad
12. The End
Eric “AK” Knutson - Vocals
Steve Conley - Guitars
Michael Gilbert - Guitars
Michael Spencer - Bass
Ken Mary - Drums
Record Label: AFM Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green