Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

38 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Flynn Effect - Obsidian Award winner

Flynn Effect
by Sooraj Ram at 06 November 2017, 10:40 PM

FLYNN EFFECT are an Australian Alternative/Rock outfit devised in the year 2014. Their sound is basically similar to that of LACUNA COIL and RAMMSTEIN, but instead blending them to formulate a soft yet thick sound so as to steadily maintain the balance of the soft-sounding Symphonic Metal sound and a heavy-sounding Hard Rock/Industrial sound. “Obsidian” is the band’s latest offering, and flaunts a list of 10 well-written tracks.

The catchy “All For Love” is probably the perfect track to start with. The song showcases the versatility and originality of the band’s sound as the song itself is multi-layered with an Alternative/Industrial Rock-esque stylistic background backed up by the melodious cleans of Tomina. Altogether it is a beautiful track that will most certainly be on repeat in my daily playlist.

The same diverse mentality is portrayed on the second track, “Fade”. The softer side of Metal has always fascinated me as it unfolds a perfect relationship between the softer and euphonic elements and the heavier sound. Such a strong relationship is evident on “Fade”, with euphonic cleans and captivating synths, whilst the thick guitar riffs show the heavier side of the album.

Every single track is well written and the integration of Electronic and Symphonic elements amidts the heavier guitar sections is perfect. After two well-executed tracks, “Talk” and “Tremors” comes my favourite “The Darkest Hour”. The song dwells on the same stylistic approach but this time the euphonic sound of guitars take centre stage, leaving the synths to take a break. The harmonic solo towards the end of the track is flawless and exemplary. The track might end up being my favourite track on this album. “Never Let Me Go closes the sweet sounding album with more euphony and melody, leaving the listeners wanting more.

“Obsidian” is a formidable effort made by talented artists. It is an album that defines the softer side of Metal is most certainly a hit, and not only captures the attention of Metal enthusiasts but also equally captivates the minds of Rock fans. I highly recommend this album to all regardless of their musical restrictions.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. All For Love
2. Fade
3. Eastwood Blues
4. Gone
5. Tremors
6. Talk
7. The Darkest Hour
8. The Fight
9. Give In To Me
10. Never Let Me Go
Tomina Vincent - Vocals
Jesse Higginson - Guitars
James Laurie - Drums
Matt Cuff - Bass
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green