Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

32 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Forgotten – Returnless

by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 14 September 2022, 6:57 AM

FORGOTTEN was founded in 1995 by Tolga Otabatmaz. Till 2009 they released some demos, but at that year the band decided to release their first album, so they recorded their debut album entitled “13 Martyrs”, which is released by Austrian label Noisehead Records on 17 October 2012. Six years after this release, FORGOTTEN completed their second album entitled “Of Past And Passion” and in 2019 signed to esteemed Greek label Sleaszy Rider Records for the release of it. Of course, they did the best they could (having few line-up changes) for composing and producing “Returnless,” the new FORGOTTEN album, that will be released on 1st July 2022. The album contains nine songs.

“Summoning” is the first. It’s a very short intro, with nefarious background elements. “The Forgotten Demon” is the first proper track. The vocals are dark and raspy, and the music pretty straightforward. It lies somewhere between Black and Death Metal, with just a tinge of Thrash. “Under Leaden Skies” has a similar sound. The riff is based mostly on the open E chord, but does venture out a bit. The slow, lumbering pace makes it hard to really get off the ground however. “To Follow Your Suffering” is the first song that presents some diversity, at least in the opening sequence. It drips with melancholy tones, and you can feel the suffering. Even though the riff is simple, the point is made, and there is just a hint of melody here.

“Within Delirium” begins with clean guitars and whispered vocals, and transitions to another depressing and despondent sound. If they vocals varied just a bit, the music could be more dynamic. “Until you Surrender” is a nine-minute opus. This is what I am talking about. The clean tones provide a breather to the harsh ones, and this tune has some dynamism. The Melodic Death Metal side of the band comes out in full display. It’s a sad, but also delicate sound. “To a Returnless Path” is a heavier and more weighted sound, from a slow moving and powerful riff. The clean, acoustical interlude at the half-way mark expands the sound from anger to despair. Picture a returnless path, a walkway to death if you will. There is no going back, and this sentiment is expressed in the music. “Of Disappearance” is another slow moving song with a heavy and depressing riff, and some audible bass notes. Right about here is where they could alter the vocals a bit. Another clean interlude comes in after the half-way mark, where the despondent tones are amplified.

“Throes and Demise” closes the album. It features more depressing and gut-wrenching tones, and the lead guitar work is excellent. Overall, this was a solid listen. In keeping with the Doom Metal elements, most of the songs give you a hopeless feeling, as in, “why am I hear” and “why do I try.” But do not look for absolution on the album, because there is none to be found. You wander through your life with an occasional smile, but never really feel good inside about much of anything.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 7
Memorability: 7
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1. Summoning
2. The Forgotten Demon
3. Under Leaden Skies
4. To Follow Your Suffering
5. Within Delirium
6. Until You Surrender
7. To a Returnless Path
8. Of Disappearance
9. Throes and Demise
Harun Altun – Vocals
Tolga Otabatmaz – Rhythm Guitars
Reha Kuldash – Rhythm Guitars, Keyboards
Ali Ozturk – Lead Guitars, Bass, Drum Programming
Record Label: Sleaszy Rider Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green