Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

32 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Freedoms Reign - Self-Titled

Freedoms Reign
by Michael "MettleAngel" Francisco at 20 May 2013, 3:04 PM

With all the high expectation looming for the forthcoming SABBATH album in less than a month, and with the recent release of the promising single “God is Dead”, fans of this inspired mettle milieu, originated by Ozzy and his band of doom will be curious to hear what these Connecticut based rockers have to offer. FREEDOMS REIGN is straight forward Power Doom, Brother. Fans of THE SWORD, SHEAVY, ST. VITUS, WITCHFINDER GENERAL, etc. will all be impressed, beyond a shadow of a doubt.

The seldom vacuous Vocalist Victor Arduin truly tries to emulate Ozzy; although, he also reminds me of Tattoo Frank from Florida's PREMONITION. He and Tommy Vumback managed to pull of those mean and punishing Iommi riffs with no excuses. Believe me, there is some pounding mountains of madness to be culled from this self-titled release.

Just check out the galloping pump of “Brother”, or the DISTURBED inspired “Believe” for which they made a lyrical video. The paranoid antics of the opener “Ritual” truly sets the volume for the faster reality of “Shadow Of A Doubt”.  The weight of the winded “Long Way” has some passionate soloing, and never seems to tire mirroring early MOUNTAIN.

The maudlin and moody “Up From Down” showcases Mike Jones's love for Geezer's bass tones, and the groove of “To Be” almost has a classic SOUNDGARDEN meets ALICE IN CHAINS feel. Surprisingly, “No Excuses” sounds more like DIAMOND HEAD even though AIC also had a song by the same name. The last cut “Looking Around” with its acoustic intro evokes the psychedelic atmosphere of artists like URIAH HEEP and perhaps early DEEP PURPLE (Think: “Child In Time”).

Lyrically, the songs are performed with merit and a free rein of meticulous high-spirited doom. These guys have come a long way, and their debut on Cruz Del Sur verifies that they are now leaving their mark.

3 Star Rating

1. Ritual
2. Shadows of a Doubt
3. Brother
4. Believe
5. Up from Down
6. To Be
7. No Excuses
8. Long Way
9. Looking Around
Victor Arduin – Vocals, Guitars
Tommy Vumback – Guitars
Mike Jones – Bass
Chris Judge – Drums
Record Label: Cruz Del Sur Music


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green