Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

35 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Furyon - Gravitas Award winner

by YngwieViking at 02 April 2012, 2:28 PM

FURYON's “Gravitas" was recorded 2 years ago and released back then confidentially, now the smart & clever Italians from Frontiers Records breaks the omertà rule and brings this jewel to the whole world …Even if this should shake some of us badly and even maybe crush some old AOR bones & destroy their monthly routine…In fact this album it’s heavier / sharper than the typical Frontiers Material.

This band is composed by Matt Mitchell & Chris Green ex-members of the excellent UK band PRIDE… Both were the rising stars in this indeed promising AOR band… Anyone remember their great album “Signs Of Purity" in 2003 ???…And even the 1st album « Far From The Edge" was quite good…In 2010 Mr Green team-up with FIREHOUSE Singer CJ Snare… The result was a fine EP under the name of RUBICON CROSS… An interesting mix of good old and new / UK vs. USA Melodic Hard Rock…So now: You know why my expectations are so high… And… They are fulfilled… And even furiously upgraded…!!!

For those who had the privilege to enjoy the “Rubicon Cross” CD, this is not very far from “Gravitas” but with a more menacing & angry profile… Down tuned / Modern but highly melodic and heavy with a very competent to say the least pair of furious guitar players who Shred the hell out of their seven strings necks with Rare intensity, but above all : a Monster Vocalist… Like an improbable mix of Miles Kennedy (SLASH / ALTER BRIDGE) and the high pitched side of Mats Leven (TREAT / RISING FORCE / ABSTRACT ALGEBRA)… This young bloke Matt Mitchell could share with them, in the future the same prestige and aura, as he’s truly the main attractive elements of this untamed CD… “Gravitas” means gravity & heaviness… This is the perfect name for such an heavy demonstration of how modern Metal should sounds (“Fear Alone”) and weights ponderously… This is not your regular dose of safe Hard Rock… More risky & perilous…The 2 final songs are acoustic bonus tracks to keep the pace down…And restore some relief & breathable air…Original / reckless / groundbreaking / innovative/founder of a new lane… A masterpiece in the true sense of the word…

4 Star Rating

1. Disappear Again
2. Stand Like Stone
3. Souvenirs
4. Don't Follow
5. New Way Of Living
6. Voodoo Me
7. Fear Alone
8. Wasted On You
9. Our Peace Someday
10. Desert Suicide
11. Voodoo Me (Acoustic)
12. Souvenirs (Acoustic)
Matt Mitchell- Vocals
Chris Green - Guitars
Pat Heath - Guitars
Alex "Nickel" Bowen - Bass
Lee Farmery - Drums
Record Label: Frontiers Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green