Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 28 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Gatecreeper – Sonoran Depravation

Sonoran Depravation
by Kerrie at 09 May 2017, 12:28 PM

GATECREEPER members originate from Arizona and formed in 2013. “Sonoran Depravation” is their first full-length album, released by Relapse Records. The album consists of nine tracks at about thirty-one minutes long. GATECREEPER did numerous splits with various other bands and created a four track EP previous to “Sonoran Depravation”. The cover art was done by Adam Burke.

There is nothing that I disliked about this album. It was pretty awesome. There are sinister guitar riffs and rhythms galore, and we can’t forget the blast beats! Most tracks had their own distinct riff right close to the end of the song and partnered with an excellent, energetic rhythm. The drums were on point and I never once noticed anything out of place with them.  Vocals were solid and full of so much strength and emotion.

What I noticed first about “Craving Flesh” was that they did a good job playing heavy rhythm and then over lapping with a riff on top of it that the heavy guitar didn’t drown out the sound of the riff. It just fit on top perfectly, it didn’t stand out too much but it wasn’t too drowned out either. Some effects are not always done by pedals when it comes to sound.  Sometimes panning can be used as a good effect all on its own. In “Sterilized”, I noticed the panning they used and I liked it, it was very noticeable and gave the song just a tad bit more flare. I think that “Lost Forever” was one of the songs on the album where I could just feel so much emotion coming from the vocals. It’s something that can’t be explained, but you just feel it.

This is an album filled with so much energy that you can feel it right down to your core. I found myself more than a couple times head banging even when my mood was not there for it to begin with. Id listen to this album and Id just get pumped up.

Songwriting: 7
Originality: 9
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Craving Flesh
2. Sterilized
3. Desperation
4. Rotting as one
5. Stronghold
6. Patriarchal Grip
7. Lost Forever
8. Flamethrower
9. Grotesque Operations
Chase Mason – Vocals
Eric Wagner – Guitar
Sean Mears – Bass
Matthew Arrebollo – Drums
Record Label: Relapse Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green