Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

39 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Gates To The Morning – Walk Between Worlds

Gates To The Morning
Walk Between Worlds
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 02 July 2022, 6:54 AM

GATES TO THE MORNING is a Progressive Metal band from New Jersey. Unfortunately, their EPK contained only the artwork along with the songs, and I had to turn to The Metal Archives to find information on the band. It looks like in fact they are a one-man band from musician Sean Meyers. This is his debut album, and contains ten tracks.

“King Obscure” is the first cut. It’s shorter song, that begins with clean guitars and some tense background ambiance. Piano comes in after the tense background elements drop back, and we are left with a very charming and melancholy sound. “Piscean Daydream” is another short song that opens with more clean guitars and lovely backing tones. Tom drums keep a steady presence as the song moves along. “Moon in the Mid-Day Sky” begins with clean vocals and cheerful, hopeful tones from the guitars. The vocals are built with layers, and I get a bit of a KING’S X vibe. The music is very smooth and pleasant, and the lead guitar notes blend with the music perfectly.

“Paradigms Fall” opens with hushed and serene tones. The harmonies in the vocals are alluring. Let the song whisk you to far away places that you are only able to dream about. The mellow music sticks in your head and makes you forget about your worries. “Sacrament” is a poignant offering with various elements working in synergy with one another. “Chapel Perilous” is a darker song that has almost ritualistic vocals and a feeling that you are being judged for the mistakes you made in life. What will happen from here? “Chasing Shadows” is another shorter offering that moves with the effortless moves from a dancer who has their routine memorized. There are no missteps, no mistakes, and everything feels preplanned.

It segues into “Terra Incognita,” which hears the sound continue, with beautiful harmonies in the vocals. “Return to Earth” is a piano driven song that is very pretty. The combination of the lyrics with the vocal harmonies is one of the more graceful things that I have heard this year. It segues into the closing song, “Fortress,” which opens with a funky little groove from the guitars. Layers build as the song moves, swaying in a gentle breeze. It’s east to get lost in the tranquil sounds in this closing piece.

Good music should make you think and challenge your conventions and outlook on things. One of the things that challenged me about the album was the way it straddled the line between optimism and discouragement. Most of the tones were smooth and pretty, but there were murky elements in the background, sometimes remaining there while other times rearing their head just a bit. If you are looking for an album that will question your convenants, this is it.

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. King Obscure
2. Piscean Daydream
3. Moon in the Mid-Day Sky
4. Paradigms Fall
5. Sacrament
6. Chapel Perilous
7. Chasing Shadows
8. Terra Incognita
9. Return to Earth
10. Fortress
Sean Meyers – Guitars, Drums, Vocals, Keyboards
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green