Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

48 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Ghoulgotha – Prophetic Oration Of Self

Prophetic Oration Of Self
by Marcos “Big Daddy” Garcia at 01 September 2014, 5:30 PM

Well, this stuff is good, besides the mix between Death Metal and Doom Metal is not something new. But GHOULGOTHA, coming from San Diego, California (USA) has an interesting work, presented on this EP, “Prophetic Oration of Self”.

Their work reminds us of some 90 bands that made the same mix, as PARADISE LOST on “Lost Paradise”, ANATHEMA on “Serenades” and MY DYING BRIDE on “As the Flower Withers”, but with no keyboards and more Death Metal orientated, with some faster and brutal moments. Low grunts, very good guitar riffs in low tunes, bass and drums getting heavy on rhythmic basis. Well, besides it’s nothing really new, it’s good.

The sound quality is the same from earlier years of 90 Death Metal: extremely crude, like a big piece of meat dripping blood on a polite and white floor. It’s good enough to recognize the instruments into the sound mass, has some good quality, so we can assume this way of sounding of the band is what they want for their work.

This EP has two songs and is on a limited edition of 300 copies on a vinyl, or let’s call it a 7” EP, with two songs only (but nowadays, your Ol’ Big Daddy here personally do not understand why this format is still on use), two songs: “Prophetic Oration of Self” (with good guitar riffs and arrangements and extremely low vocals) and “Disintegration Paradox” (more dynamic, with tempo changes, and better arrangements on rhythmic basis).

Well, they really have a good work, but as they didn’t release a full length until this moment, hope they can bring a good album to our ears. Conditions they have, it’s clear to your Ol’ Daddy ears.

3 Star Rating

1. Prophetic Oration of Self
2. Disintegration Paradox
W. Sarantopoulos – Vocals, guitars
I. Mann – Guitars
J. Palacios – Bass, vocals
C. Koryn – Drums
Record Label: Blood Harvest Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 10 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green