Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

24 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Gloomball - The Distance Award winner

The Distance
by Katarzyna Zakolska at 08 April 2013, 7:23 PM

GLOOMBALL is band from Mannheim, Germany, following their path since 2010. “The Distance” is their debut album. The band's guitarist, Björn Daigger, composed the majority of the tracks together with vocalist Alen Ljubic.

Opening track, “Overcome”, felt great with elements of the industrial chills of ROB ZOMBIE, yet consisting of the classic style riffing and soloing, and vocal work resembling ZAKK WYLDE. I also liked the very much impressive cover version of Robert M. Tepper‘s “No Easy Way Out” from the classic movie “Rocky IV”, displayed with nice riffs, catchy chorus and keys, a pure 80s sensation of fine Hard Rock. “More And More” continued the same vibe of catchiness and 80s orientations. The titled track “The Distance” has a calmer sound pattern with symphonic elements and melodic singing, including impressive backing vocals. “Long Time Gone” was the first song of GLOOMBALL that caught me in the web of their music. These heavy killer riffs and affiliations with CLAWFINGER and BIOHAZARD, following the melodic singing, are simply amazing. “Blown Away And Gone” is where I found vocal similarities to FEAR FACTORY. The song felt of the modern type, partially industrialized with its rhythms and riffs. “Hand In Blood” displays great energies and multiple styles. The melodic “Bitter Place” inhibits grand guitars and rhythmic section, well played and composed. The piano playing on “Living With My Tender Pain” is just remarkable, this song is like the icing on the cake. Every sound is well though and recorded with brilliance. Ljubic's singing is deeply emotive, showing his talent.

“The Distance” is a truly a nice surprise for a debut album, but with a lot of experience, high level, and new, great ideas. GLOOMBALL created near perfect music labelled as Alternative Metal to the side of modern Hard Rock, along with various of other styles to the mix, the end result is a heavier, modernized, IRON MAIDEN, industrial machinery of ROB ZOMBIE, FEAR FACTORY, atmosphere of 80s Hard Rock, elements of electronic & energy with the contemporary sounds of 3 DOORS DOWN, STONE SOUR & the melodic edge of ALTER BRIDGE and SHINEDOWN. All songs of this album are catchy and memorable, highly harmonious.


4 Star Rating

1. Overcome
2. Burning Gasoline
3. The Distance
4. Blown Away And Gone
5. More And More
6. No Easy Way Out
7. Bitter Place
8. Long Time Gone
9. We Do Belong
10. Your Sorrow Inside Me
11. Hand In Blood
12. Living With My Tender Pain
Alen Ljubic - Vocals
Björn Daigger - Guitars
Jossi Lenk - Guitars
Basti Moser - Bass
Danny Joe - Drums
Record Label: SPV / Steamhammer Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 29 January 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green