Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

28 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Godless Truth – Godless Truth Award winner

Godless Truth
Godless Truth
by Alex Barnard at 05 April 2022, 11:05 PM

GODLESS TRUTH is a Technical Death Metal band from the Czech Republic. This is the group’s self-titled fifth album, released by Transcending Obscurity Records on March 4, 2022.

The technicality exhibited on this album is mind-melting. On the surface, the band clearly borrows a lot of influence from groups like DEATH during the “Human” era, PESTILENCE, and early GORGUTS. However, other, subtler influences like MACHINE HEAD, SEPULTURA, and EXHORDER creep through on groovy tracks like “The Eyechain,” giving the album a hint of variety that a lot of Technical Death Metal does not have. Thus, I would say this is not your average Technical Death Metal album.

The musicianship on this album is astounding. Adam B. Sychrow’s range of death growls is pretty incredible, shifting from Chuck Schuldiner-esque screams to David Vincent-inspired gutturals at the drop of a hat. Ondrej Černobila and Petr Švancara’s riffs are chaotic and wild, and they harmonize very well together as evidenced on the track “Wake Up To Obey.” Jakub Grunt’s bass playing is similarly tight and devastating, adding to the chaos that the two guitars create very nicely. But the real draw for me is Petr Mikeš’ drumming. It’s fast, pummeling and blistering, with his kick drums sounding like machine gun fire, especially on “Fortune Time.”

Other highlights from this record include “Breathe Fire,” which feels particularly Thrashy and has some of Sychrow’s most horrifying screams; “Glory To Desperation,” a 40-second guitar solo that breaks up the track listing nicely and showcases a different side to the guitar talents of Černobila and Švancara; and “The Decision,” an opener whose energy so greatly contrasts that of the album intro that it took me by surprise when it started.

“Godless Truth” shows the band for which it is named return to form after 18 long years of no full-length albums. It’s a re-entry that deserves high praise and nothing else. If you want your ears and face melted by sheer technicality, look no further than this album.

Production: 10
Musicianship: 10
Song writing: 8
Memorability: 7

4 Star Rating

1. Wheels of Entity
2. The Decision
3. Glory To Desperation
4. Scissors
5. Breathe Fire
6. Fortune Time
7. Bred In Greed
8. The Eyechain
9. RIP Cage
10. Wake Up To Obey
Petr Mikeš – Drums
Petr Švancara – Guitars
Jakub Grunt – Bass
Ondrej Černobila – Guitars
Adam B. Sychrow – Vocals
Record Label: Transcending Obscurity Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green