Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

67 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Godstone - Monument of One

Monument of One
by Brian “Metal” Morton at 05 August 2018, 8:00 AM

With their debut album Monument of One comes GODSTONE. They are a Metal band from St. Austell, England and their influences range from Karnivool to Killswitch Engage. The EP only has five tracks so let us begin! The first song on the EP is a song called “Over the Line” which really reminds me of old Sevendust. James Mcdonalds vocals are really on point in this song. The guitars played by Alex Goodrich and John Kenward really shine in this song. The next song up is called “Tear It All Apart” which is very well written. This takes me back to when I was a teen in the early 2000’s. Especially at the end when the screaming kicks in.

Next is the song “The Way You Are” which sounds a bit more aggressive than the previous songs. It is also very melodic and heavy at the same time. I really enjoy the Bass played by Matt Pascoe in this one. The fourth track “Breathe” is definitely my favorite on the album. Matt Davy plays the drums really well on this song. Also this is my favorite as far as vocals go as well.

The final song on the album is “Full Circle” is where I can hear the mixture of their influences the most. This song is really good and I bet this would be their main radio song. The composure was really well written and placed. All in all I think they did a great job on their first release. I think we will most assuredly hear more from them in the future as well. If they play their cards right they could be opening for some bigger acts in the very near future. Best of luck to you guys, I hope you all hit the big time you deserve it!

Songwriting: 7
Memorability: 6
Originality: 6
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1. Over the Line
2. Tear It All Apart
3. The Way You Are
4. Breathe
5. Full Circle
Matt Pascoe - Bass
Matt Davy - Drums
Alex Goodrich - Guitars
John Kenward - Guitars/Vocals
James McDonald - Vocals
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 28 May 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green