Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

30 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Gotthard - Silver

by Marcos "Big Daddy" Garcia at 04 February 2017, 12:12 PM

Swiss Hard Rock’s most outstanding name is back for some more action.

Yes, GOTTHARD is back, releasing their new album, “Silver”, to celebrate 25 years of a long and successful career, full of excellent songs (and some not as good as we’d like), with highs and downs enough to bring tears to our eyes.But what are they about now?

First of all, if you’re looking for something that they did back with Steve Lee on vocals, you better look for their older albums and compilations. With respect for Steve, he is dead, and the times are different, as the band’s style seems to be in a slightly different way. That older and nasty Hard Rock form from their past is presented in some moments, but now, the quintet sounds more into a modern (and heavier) way, with other accessible moments, with great influence of Pop Rock. But this doesn’t mean that their work is bad. No, it’s not like that, but we can feel that some of the rawer touches of their previous works are absent.

The album was produced by Leo Leoni and Charlie Bauerfeind. Maybe the great point that would cause complains amongst the fans is this clean sound quality. Sorry, but the quintet needs something with some musical filthy. The nasty and offensive side of Hard Rock is absent, and the modernity can remind of some albums from the style on the 90s, a bit far from what they should sound.

The 13 tracks are good, really, having good moments as on “Silver River” (some good riffs and heavy parts are presented), the groove Hard’n’Roll of “Electrified” (one song that really reminds the past, showing good riffs and excellent vocals), the nasty weight shown on “Everything Inside”, the refined and good “Tequila Symphony No. 5” with its very good tempos (showing a fine work from bass guitar and drums), the hooking and lovely “My Oh My” (another track that reminds their past, with lovely work from vocals and guitars), and the accessible “Blame on Me”. And the bonus tracks “Walk On” and “Customized Lovin’” are very good as well, being nasty and heavy as their work needs.

But by the blazes, why so many ballads?

Yes, there are too many ballads on “Silver”. “Stay With Me” (even with these heavy moments), “Reason For This”, the acoustic “Not Fooling Anyone”, “Why”, and “Only Love is Real” are ballad, heavy or accessible, all of them with their values and quality. But one or two of them should be enough.

The album is good, but only good. But to be just: don’t blame Mic, because his talent is really excellent, and he can’t be blamed alone.

Originality: 7
Songwriting: 5
Memorability: 7
Production: 6

3 Star Rating

1. Silver River
2. Electrified
3. Stay With Me
4. Beautiful
5. Everything Inside
6. Reason For This
7. Not Fooling Anyone
8. Miss Me
9. Tequila Symphony No. 5
10. Why
11. Only Love is Real
12. My Oh My
13. Blame on Me
14. Walk On
15. Customized Lovin’
Nic Maeder – Vocals
Leo Leoni – Guitars
Freddy Scherer – Guitars
Marc Lynn – Bass
Hena Habegger – Drums
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green