Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

43 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Grande Royale - No Fuss

Grande Royale
No Fuss
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 09 May 2016, 1:33 PM

GRANDE ROYALE is a “Garage Rock Band” based out of Sweden, originally started as a fun side project. This is the band’s debut album, and contains twelve tracks. “Paltry Day” leads off the album. The guitars are only partially distorted and the riff is simple and straightforward. The fast pacing and energetic vocals give the song a Punk Rock quality in my opinion. “No Score” is similar in pace but has a more sleazy quality with the dirty Blues riff and lead breaks. After three high fueled numbers, “Sick of it All” is more mid-tempo with the focus on a bit of a longer chorus. The pentatonic scaled lead with heavy doses of wah-wah is a nice addition to the sound.
While “Omission” still has that heavy Blues sound, there is a little more going on sonically than in previous tracks and the vocal effort is more noteworthy. “She’s Alright” is easy on the ears and something that you can sing along with. The structure is about as textbook as can be leaving no room for surprise. “Get Your Fill” is rounded out a little more as lead guitar breaks appear more often and in conjunction with the instrumentation in the verses and chorus. Lyrically it presents more like an old-fashioned Rock and Roll anthem, urging you to seize the sound. “Ingenious” is a fun song that pushes you to tap your foot to the rhythm and let go of your anxiety and just enjoy the listen. “Knocked Down” opens with a lead guitar riff that is something out of the late 1980’s akin to the band FASTER PUSSYCAT.” Indeed, if I could visualize the band it would most definitely be with loud prints and many accessories.
“I’m in Rush” closes the album with fervor and a party in the background. “Garage Rock” is a good genre description for the album. By definition this means that the air is light and the songs are fun and upbeat, and that is exactly how it is delivered. But some of the songs run together too closely and don’t establish enough individual identity, being the same in meter and length.

Songwriting:                6
Originality:                  6
Memorability:             5
Production:                  7

Dave “That Metal Guy” Campbell

3 Star Rating

1. Paltry Day
2. No Score
3. Go Go Go
4. Sick of it All
5. Omission
6. She’s Alright
7. Get Out of my City
8. Get Your Fill
9. We’re on a Roll
10. Ingenious
11. Knocked Down (Izze)
12. I’m in a Rush
Hampus Steenberg - Lead vocals
Gustav Wremer - Guitar
Andreas Jenå - Guitar
Calle Ljungström- Bass
Marcus Kveldstad - Drums

Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 09 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green