Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

27 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Grave Noise - Roots of Damnation Award winner

Grave Noise
Roots of Damnation
by Ricardo Casagrande at 16 May 2022, 1:06 PM

Hailing from Spain, this quartet came together in 2013 to form the band GRAVE NOISE. They released their first demo in 2015 called Self Destroy Us. Jumping ahead to 2018, they put out the first full length album From the Cradle to the Grave and received good reviews for their high intensity Thrash metal. While dropping two singles in 2022, Roots of Damnation comes upon us in March, just before the touring season kicks off in full force.

With pounding drums and a tasty Thrash riff, the album comes alive with the track “Rotten System”. As the assault on the corrupt and unjust system launches into full effect, you are enticed to bang your head to Fernando’s thunderous double bass, along with great guitar riffs and a well placed solo, as the album starts off with a banger. “Fuckism” picks up where the last track leaves off with a battering assault on the drums and Iker’s aggressive growl commanding your attention. The guys dial it back mid-song with a well put together guitar duel that transforms itself into a great sounding solo, before ending off with a catchy and melodic chorus. The track “Broken Land” begins with a great intro of drums and a guitar riff that will stick in your head before becoming the Thrash metal demon it is with great timing. The song really moves along by blending the guitars, bass and drums together fluently while transitioning from chorus, bridge and verses.

“The Ghost Plague” is a song that is tough to not like or to find anything that you think doesn’t belong. Great job putting this song together fellas, really good writing and shows the musicianship within the band as top notch. The guitars in the next track inherit some death metal force within a few riffs as “Terror” is an ultra aggressively paced song that is driven by the bass and drums rhythm and allows the guitars to manipulate their chords with ease. I feel like I could just end the review here and tell you all that you must listen to this album, but I don’t think the editors would take too kindly to that so we will march on.

“In God We Trash” starts out with rumbling bass that is intensely present throughout the album - this is a more melodic track that makes way for the vocals and backing vocals to come through loud and clear. “Mass Hysteria” portrays that feeling well with the music and has a change in style to the guitars with some technical work, showing more diversity in the music and the capabilities of the guitarists themselves. “No One Higher” starts off with a cool bass line before it erupts into a speed demon that includes technical guitar work with most of the riffs and a screeching solo that hits the spot.

Really enjoyed this album. The songs are put together well with a lot of creativity, and as a sophomore album, there is a lot of time to continue to grow as a band. The mixing is good, there seems to be a little more emphasis on the bass more than I have heard on recent Thrash records, that really helps deliver a deep level of sound to build off of. It has everything in a release that any fan of thrash could appreciate. I will for sure be waiting to hear more from these guys. Rock on.

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Rotten System
2. Fuckism
3. Broken Land
4. The Ghost Plague
5. Terror
6. In God We Trash
7. Disorder
8. Mass Hysteria
9. No One Higher
10. Perpetual Anxiety
Iker Sanz - Vocals, Guitars
Edu Sanz - Guitars, Choirs
Antonio Sánchez - Bass, Choirs
Fernando Mediavilla - Drums
Record Label: Art Gates Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green