Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 38 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Grave of Sacrifice – Land of Decay

Grave of Sacrifice
Land of Decay
by Ricardo Casagrande at 02 August 2022, 2:00 PM

Mexican Death metallers GRAVE OF SACRIFICE have released their first EP Land of Decay. Since coming together in 2021, they have released two singles and now have followed it up with this EP. They have a wide range of influences and are said to have a similar sound to the likes of SUFFOCATION, LAMB OF GOD, and MORBID ANGEL. With this release they hope to have a hand in the aggressive and widespread devastating force of Death metal making its way throughout the world via South America.

The album begins with the track “Blind Maze” as it captures what the band hopes to achieve throughout the entire release. The vocals are in your face and handles the sonic form of chaos that embodies the track with the professionalism of a RANDY BLYTHE. The song ploughs through riff after riff with ease and is held in place by the on-point drumming of Baruch. The bass is rumbling and carries a heavy tone with a lot of melody on the track and really stands out as well done. “Broken Thoughts” has a progressive metal flow that is contradicted by a black metal riff, that is once again heavy on a punchy and twangy bass line that follows pace with a strong double kick. A well-played out tune but not a highlight on the EP.

The music has a strong resemblance to LAMB OF GOD minus the fast pace of the breakdowns and less variety of heavy melodic riffs. “Land Of Decay” is a thrash worthy track that is highlighted by the consistently strong vocal presence. The change of pace is well received and includes a jazz/bluesy bass line and creative guitar work. The build-up back into the aggressive guitar line is well structured and is some of the strongest guitars on the release. The EP finishes up with the track “Macron”, opening similarly to the other tracks with forceful drums as the guitars follow suit. Like most of the tracks, I find the rhythm section and vocals to be the focus points of the song. The bass lines on this track along with the EP itself are strong and the production of the release seems to highlight this fact.

There will definitely need to be more material released to get a good idea of what the band is trying to capture, along with their songwriting capabilities as musicians. The guitars as they do portray a strong sense of power throughout, become a bit stagnant and could use a little more bite and a little less bark, but you do get the sense that that ability is there. But this can be a band to look out for as there is potential within these tracks.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 6
Memorability: 5
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. Blind Maze
2. Kneel Down
3. Broken Thoughts
4. Macron
5. Land Of Decay
Ángel Cervera – Vocals
Pablo Camaal – Rhythm guitar
Braulio Díaz – Lead Guitar
César Güémez – Bass
Baruch Velázquez – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green