Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Graveshadow - Ambition's Price

Ambition's Price
by Dana Koch at 30 April 2018, 9:18 PM

Sacramento, CA based GRAVESHADOW returns with their second album “Ambition’s Price” to be released April 13, 2018. Formed in 2014, Graveshadow executes a Gothic, Melodic, Symphonic Metal sound with emphasis on the vocals which span a range of angelic to beastly. The band takes their listeners on journeys of personal struggle, times bygone, and imaginary landscapes.

Doorway to Heaven” opens with twinkling synth over double bass and powerful riffing. Heather’s vocals draw attention, she can sing prettily or growl aggressively into the microphone. “Widow and the Raven” is an intriguing song delivering symphonic moments and a catchy, uplifting refrain. Of all the songs on the album, this one stuck out to me the most. The lyrics are memorable and there is a sense of atmosphere that adds to the overall tone.

With “Hero of Time” a bit of a Folk Metal sound can be heard amidst the lilting keyboard melody and the refrain. The song sticks out as aiming more toward the Power Metal end of the spectrum. Next, Graveshadow weaves another spellbinding journey to the epic battle of Troy with track “Gates.” “Warchief” a faster, energetic track, stands out as one of the more impressive tracks on the album. Heather’s vocals keep the listener engaged throughout.

Overall, “Ambition’s Price” is a solid album. There were some bland moments, but for the whole the tracks were deliberate in their delivery and Heather’s vocals are the focal point. Heather proves she is a noteworthy female Metal vocalist. This album will appeal to fans of Melodic Metal particularly, and I would recommend it.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Memorability: 7
Production: 7

4 Star Rating


1. Doorway to Heaven
2. Widow and the Raven
3. Ambition’s Price
4. Hero of Time
5. Gates
6. The Unspoken
7. Return to Me
8. Slave
9. Liberator
10. Warchief
11. Eden Ablaze


William LLoyd Walker III - Rhythm Guitar
Aaron Robitsch -Lead Guitar
Benjamin Armstrong - Bass
Heather Michele - Vocals
Roman Anderson - Dru

Record Label: M-Theory Audio


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 26 March 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green