Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

53 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Graveyard - Peace

by Marcos "Big Daddy" Garcia at 24 May 2018, 2:48 PM

I’ll never understand the passion of new bands for the past. We had great names in the 60’s, 70’s, 80’s and 90’s, and great new ones now. But all of them left their testimonies in form of albums and videos, so there is no need for someone to “give sequence” for the fallen ones. There’s no need for a new BATHORY, LED ZEPPELIN, BLACK SABBATH, HELLHAMMER, MAYHEM, DEATH, or other you can think. Of course some new bands create good works on this format, but there are some of them that are boring. Swedish quartet GRAVEYARD is one of these boring bands, with their latest work, “Peace”.

Their musical work rests on a 60’s/70’s Hard Rock format with some greasy instrumental tunes, good melodies and charming songs. But the smell of mold is extremely evident; turning the experience to hear this album is a sickening time that your mind keeps telling “I heard this before”. Yes, just more of the same music we all heard time and time again on old albums. The sound quality is that raw emulated sound from the 70’s, when the differences between studio recordings and live shows were not so great. The organic feeling is present, but sometimes the work of Chips Kiesbye on the production seems to be a recreation of the clichés of the past. It’s organic, but forced.

The songs are all good, but the lack of personality is evident as well. If you’re not into old musical genres, the musical arrangements “It Ain’t Over Yet”, the good melodies of “Cold Love”, and he raw touch of “Please Don’t”, “The Fox” and “Bird of Paradise” can be a good experience. But for those who are experienced in the old ways of Rock and Metal, they all are more stuff of the same, nothing more than that. They are a good band, with a good album, but to hear it a second time is an experience that I hope to never repeat again.

Originality: 3
Songwriting: 7
Memorability: 3
Production: 5

2 Star Rating

1. It Ain’t Over Yet
2. Cold Love
3. See the Day
4. Please Don’t
5. The Fox
6. Walk On
7. Del Manic
8. Bird of Paradise
9. A Sign of Peace
10. Low (I Wouldn’t Mind)
Joakim Nilsson - Guitars, Vocals
Jonatan Larocca-Ramm - Guitars, Vocals
Truls Mörck - Bass, vocals
Oskar Bergenheim - Drums
Record Label: Nuclear Blast


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green