Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

29 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Guiltys Law - Rise Again

Guiltys Law
Rise Again
by Yngwieviking at 11 June 2014, 1:53 PM

With the release of their second album “Rise Again”, the Japanese talented guys of GUILTYS LAW from Tokyo are holding a strong piece of Traditionnal Power Metal in the continuity of their debut album “Total Insanity” (blrc-00031). Sonically updated with a new found dynamic, still holding an incomparable determination yet restrained by the same weakness. But it’s boosted by a tenacious will under the same bold undeniable passion and dedication for their noble craft : The art of Shredding!

The long Opening and closing tracks are clearly the most epic numbers with many slight progressive overtones, complex instrumental structures and great harmonized choirs like soft ICED EARTH mixed with LABYRINTH, obviously rewarding and interesting!

“Die Another Day” and “We Will Rise Again” are built upon a strong galloping European influence with modernized elements, while “Open Your Eyes” / “Fight the Fight” and “Play of the Stranger” are more tagged in the American side of things, like LIZZY BORDEN meets OBSESSION with similarities from the contemporary STRYPER’s signature sound. Notably enhanced with terrific twin guitar duelling and operatic high pitched vocals !

Unfortunately, the tracks like “Keep the Faith” or the fast “Only the Good Die Young” are too much in the happy cheesy melodic style of EDGUY / FREEDOM CALL which don’t fit really well with their sound!

The delicate element of the Lead Vocals by K.Saito is once again an acquired taste, because the strict musical & singing performance is perfect but, sometimes the Japanese accent is little too prominent and the result is awkward.

Overall this new album “Rise Again” is a good testimony of the dynamism of the Underground Metal scene in Japan!

If you have a curious mind and if the Power Metal is still pumping in your veins, it’s time to rise again!

3 Star Rating

1. Requiem for a Dream
2. Die Another Day
3. Keep the Faith
4. Open Your Eyes
5. Fight the Fight
6. We Will Rise Again
7. Play of the Stranger
8. Only the Good Die Young
9. Revival from the Edge of Despair
Kunihiko Saito – Lead Vocals
Takashi Iwahara – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Toshio Fujito – Drums
Kazonobu Kitadate – Bass, Backing Vocals
Tomochika Takasawa – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Record Label: Black-listed Productions


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 31 March 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green